cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Link truncation software glitch

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,251
Thanks: 937
Fixes: 56
Registered: 15-06-2007

Link truncation software glitch

9 REPLIES
jnwright
Grafter
Posts: 281
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

Similar, although not the same, since the first link does not include the ) at the end!
It must be a rules bug.  I have to add something like a _ at the end of the first to make them fetch the same page!  In Firefox at least!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandbox_(computer_security)_
the same
The location is fetched differently in the Firefox titlebar and it appears that it does not include a single symbol such as a ) after the last letter in the url.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandbox_(computer_security))
fetches the same page as you got!
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

on my Fire fox title bar one had a single (, the next had %28  then %29, the third two ( )
Most confusing, leave that to the experts, the last two opened the full article
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,251
Thanks: 937
Fixes: 56
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

Quote from: jnwright
Similar, although not the same, since the first link does not include the ) at the end!
You have spotted the problem - I pasted the link into both places but the forum software left the last bracket out of the URL and yes I am using Firefox
N/A

Re: Link truncation software glitch

Seems similar to the issues we had with numeric URLs not being correctly parsed.
http://192.168.1.1 for example.
It looks like both are related to how SMF recognises URLs to highlight them. Of course, both work fine when wrapped in [url] tags - just SMF seems to get confused when it tries to auto generate the tags on the fly.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,264
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

Personally, I prefer it this way so I can do things like:
Quote
You can find more information on the Website (http://www.plus.net)
and have the link work...
In our internal forums that would have been turned in to http://www.plus.net) and wouldn't have worked.
I'd be tempted to say this wasn't a bug...
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,251
Thanks: 937
Fixes: 56
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

Colin - did you use to work for Microsoft - it's a feature not a bug  Shocked
N/A

Re: Link truncation software glitch

TBH - back in the now distant days when we used PHPBB, we didn't even have this feature, never mind about its bug sub-feature.
MikeWhitehead
Grafter
Posts: 748
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

The function that allows for deciding what is part of the link and what isn't (IIRC) is just a regular expression, so it could be modified to include a closing bracket if an opening bracket is found after the domain suffix.
geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Link truncation software glitch

edit : This post ended up on the wrong thread. I had never seen this thread before finding my post on it. Strange glitch.