cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TBB Ping Graphs

Madmac
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-02-2015

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

ADSL2+ Unlimited with Pro Add-on
<a title="Broadband Ping" href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/2fbc9552266cd206253d4a5ccbd86250.html"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - Home broadband" src="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share-large/2fbc9552266cd206253d4a5ccbd86250.png" /></a>

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,947
Thanks: 5,881
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Forgot to post - I am now on 80/20 fibre
Starmans
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2015

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

PN VDSL2 Unlimited Fibre Extra 80/20Mb (Static IP) (EASTF Exchange)
<a title="Broadband Ping" href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/86ab8abc1c4a3f13a0d8003a28ae4f09.html"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - PN VDSL Extra 80/20Mbit" src="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share-large/86ab8abc1c4a3f13a0d8003a28ae4f09.png" /></a>

beeceegee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 573
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎27-11-2012

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Any ideas why my graph suddenly went red at 10pm last night

I first thought something at this end, but there's another graph showing exactly the same. IP address has not changed
[UPDATE] the gateway pcl-bng03 seems to be the problem; a hop to ptw-bng01 and all is well
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 986
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Chris Pettitt's went solid red at exactly the same time as yours!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,947
Thanks: 5,881
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

It is nearly 9 months since I posted a link to my revised BQM (forced change of fixed IP address) here - http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,106312.msg1208375.html#msg1208375 - is there a plan to review this monitoring and apply the proffered updates please?
This was put in place to illuminate patters of behaviour (failures) across the user base.  Is there still merit in this?  Are there other tools in place now which provide that holistic view of the world?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 986
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

If you are on FTTC, yes: http://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk/
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,340
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: TBB Ping Graphs


I'd forgotten all about this although I am still sharing my live graph.
As a matter of interest, at about 04.30 this morning, as you can see, my latency returned to normal after several weeks of being at the higher value. My speeds have also returned to normal after losing 20% during the same period. PN faults reported that everything was "within limits".
What is likely to have occurred?
Apologies if this is a very stupid question, I'm just a curious OAP!!
Thanks,
Nick
PS There was no change of gateway.
KevinG
Rising Star
Posts: 990
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Quote from: tijara33
What is likely to have occurred?

Interleaving removed.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,340
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Quote
Interleaving removed.

Thanks, although I'm not a lot wiser. Why would it have been applied in the first case, about 4 weeks ago?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,947
Thanks: 5,881
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

At the risk of taking this thread right off topic, can a change to interleaving be applied without a drop of PPP?  A drop of PPP and remaining in the same gateway would be unusual.  Does the router suggest a break in the PPP session (connection time)?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,340
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Quote
Does the router suggest a break in the PPP session (connection time)?

No, the router has been connected for over 3 weeks.  Smiley
KevinG
Rising Star
Posts: 990
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

I don't know about ADSL, but on FTTC all sorts of things can happen without the PPP session being dropped. Taking this thread off-topic is probably academic now as the graphs are clearly not being maintained any more.
KevinG
Rising Star
Posts: 990
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Quote from: tijara33
Why would it have been applied in the first case, about 4 weeks ago?

Errors, instability, for a period.