cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TBB Ping Graphs

Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 589
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

All added
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,674
Thanks: 3,507
Fixes: 515
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Mind that step at 3:30am Chris Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 92.0.1 (64-bit)

Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 589
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Your minimum latency seems to be higher than most others Gus, I'm assuming that you're on an interleaved line?
For all the others that have given graphs, many thanks. If you'd like to give us a brief 1 or 2 line explanation of any oddness, spikes or anything else on the graph that'd be great and I can then put that on the page too.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Gus
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,210
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Yep it is interleaved on long line, my spikes will be VLC streaming BBC radio or browser for my local station, plus a MMO gamer so I usually have VLC/2 game clients running at the same time
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
RPMozley
Pro
Posts: 1,180
Thanks: 41
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Extra 21CN
Sorry to be late posting, suffering from a cold currently.
<a title="Broadband Ping" href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/d301982cde4ecd8ab3dd25308e0a2aac.html"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - PlusNet" src="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share-large/d301982cde4ecd8ab3dd25308e0a2aac.png" /></a>
That's RPM to you!!
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

avatastic,
I've been looking at your throughout the afternoon. Now I am running under the assumption that you know why it looks like that, because to anybody else it must be screaming "what the ..".
Your line looks perfectly fine, so I can only assume it is something that you have in place that essentially de-prioritises the pings?
avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

P,
Yeah I expect that icmp is being put in pipes 3 and 4. I keep the highest priority pipes (1 and 2, unsurprisingly) for things like incoming DNS lookups.
I'll move icmp in to pipes 1 and 2 and see if my graph settles down.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Gus
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,210
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Today at 3pm ish the change in packet loss or lack of thankfully, I had my SNR reset to 6 after BT changed it to 3 yesterday.  Had random sites failing to load and buffering on all on-demand sites I use [4OD/Iplayer/channel5]
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
zubel
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-06-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Hohoho, looks like the Steam "tweak" to download updates on a timer seems to be working on mine.  At last, I can schedule downloads of all the games I never managed to get down yet Smiley
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 787
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

What tweak - I  always do it using task manager
chuckster
Grafter
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎21-11-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

Here's mine:
Extra
<a title="Broadband Ping" href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/a43201d028e92661224997c8511a42d7.html"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - PlusNet Main" src="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share-large/a43201d028e92661224997c8511a42d7.png" /></a>
Blim
Grafter
Posts: 462
Registered: ‎06-03-2012

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

chuckster,
what router do us use? I see your ping is under 10ms.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 857
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

It won't be anything to do with his router - it will be that he is close to London.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Kelly
Hero
Posts: 5,494
Thanks: 371
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

He's probably connected to our POP with a CAT6 cable Cheesy
Kelly Dorset
Ex-Broadband Service Manager
Blim
Grafter
Posts: 462
Registered: ‎06-03-2012

Re: TBB Ping Graphs

funny that coz my exchange is less than 100 meters away and thats connected to London by fiber.
and from your calculations I should get a ping well over 3 seconds to say the US.
just admit you or bt ether use interleaving to manage the speed of your customers connection or connection shaping.