cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Launch of Plusnet Assist

jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Launch of Plusnet Assist

Hi Folks,
Today we're pleased to announce the launch of Plusnet Assist, a new tool to help with common internet problems.
Plusnet Assist is now available to download free from our website and, once downloaded, will sit in your system tray ready to help you whenever you need.
A greater introduction can be found in our Community Blogs and details about how to download and frequently asked questions can be found at http://www.plus.net/assist
Joanne Pilson.
84 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,504
Thanks: 549
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-03-2011

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Is the product able to support your router configured as No-Nat with a static IP address range?
Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

To be honest I'm not 100% sure, knowing how it works though I'd say the majority of things will work. There's one way to find out if you fancy giving it a whirl? (It's easy enough to uninstall)

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,560
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

do I get a prize for being the first to report a glitch  Cheesy
I was working in Chome and downloaded Plusnet Assists and when downloaded it booted up Explorer  Sad
I have Chrome set up as my default browser and I don't want to use explorer  Roll eyes
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Quote from: PeterLoftus
I was working in Chome and downloaded Plusnet Assists and when downloaded it booted up Explorer  Sad

This is how it's supposed to work Peter as per the information contained in the FAQ.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,560
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

OK but I have had instances where MS tried to take over my machine  Grin
You know the sort of thing when you have selected a new word processor and Windows, Outlook and such have to be gone through to make sure that they don't boot up Word and configure it as default.  Huh
As long as this Explorer implementation is not the thin end of the wedge Angry
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

and it apparently wont work for me as a free-online customer
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,170
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 58
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Quote
20. Is this only for Plusnet customers?
Yes, Plusnet Assist has been designed to support Plusnet Broadband. We're sorry but Plusnet Assist won't provide specific support for Force9 and Free-online settings.

As a Force9 customer it lets me out too Smiley

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Does this raise the old chestnut about integrating membership?  As a Free-online customer, I'd be happy to be moved to a Plusnet account, as long as it doesn't cause disruption, and I can keep my user name and all of my services on the contract I'm on now (I think I already have a Plusnet account as well)
John
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,367
Thanks: 690
Fixes: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Why risk disruption? I think this is one "goody" we can let pass us by. (I'm a Force9 customer.)
David
David
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Quote from: hulls
Does this raise the old chestnut about integrating membership?  As a Free-online customer, I'd be happy to be moved to a Plusnet account, as long as it doesn't cause disruption, and I can keep my user name...

That's one of the main stumbling blocks. Customers on different 'VISPs' can share the same username i.e. you can have both a FreeOnline and Plusnet customer with identical usernames. The way a lot of our systems are built, the username needs to be unique from one customer to the next.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,748
Thanks: 230
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

This won't work on *most* of my PC's.
Since it is trivial to check my router <-> Plusnet connection what is the point of this product?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

It does more than that, it can help set up wireless connections, set up and fix problems with email client configuration etc. If you're able to do all this yourself then maybe you don't need to download it, however there are a lot of people who need help with these kind of things.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

Quote from: Bob

That's one of the main stumbling blocks. Customers on different 'VISPs' can share the same username i.e. you can have both a FreeOnline and Plusnet customer with identical usernames. The way a lot of our systems are built, the username needs to be unique from one customer to the next.

I did have a PN dial up user name that was the same as my FOL one, but it seems to have been discontinued. As I said though, I've got a few perks from FOL over the many years I've been with them (web space, free domain name etc), and wouldn't want to lose them by moving away.
John
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,850
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Launch of Plusnet Assist

works on linux, does it?  just curious.