cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pointing to ccgi

tony2007
Grafter
Posts: 115
Registered: 15-08-2007

pointing to ccgi

hi,
can someone advise me?
last night i reconfigured my domain to point at the new platform.
this is the formula i used:

sociologyonline.co.uk. | cname | ccgi.force9.net.

But it's now 7.30pm and the domain still points at homepages - its orginal location.
I raised a ticket earlier today but no one has even replied.
Have i set out the change correctly?
Does this process take a certain time period?

Advice would be appreciated
5 REPLIES
N/A

pointing to ccgi

takes any time from 4 hours (updating F9 DNS records) - 48 hours (to get round the net).

if you want

www.sociologyonline.co.uk

to point at the CGI server you should have used:

www | cname | ccgi.force9.net.

or have I misunderstood?

Jarv
tony2007
Grafter
Posts: 115
Registered: 15-08-2007

pointing to ccgi

Thanks for your response Jarv.
I didn't realise it could take up to 48 hours - ah well.
I only had a small 'window' of opportunity from work to do the transferring so hoped could things done quickly.
[now i learn that I'll have to wait while the new platform gets SSI-savvy!]

No I didn't want to point the

www.sociologyonline.co.uk
at the new platform until I was happy with the complete transfer
so thought I'd test it on

sociologyonline.co.uk.

Thanks again for the info
N/A

pointing to ccgi

Just re-read the details on how to point the domain (no www subdomain) to the CGI:

########################################

Setting up http://domain.co.uk to point to the CGI server

There are two elements to making this work, one conducted by Support and one conducted by yourself.

Initially you must add an additional 'A' record to your domain name.

- To do this, you need to visit the 'Domain Names' section of the portal (Linked at the very bottom of this page).
-- Once there, you will see a list of your domain names, with a number of options.
--- Choose "Configure" on the domain name you wish to point to the CGI server.
---- At the bottom of the resulting page, you will see an option to "Configure DNS Records".
----- Click this, and enter the following in the Form:

Left field - - Type - - - - Pri - - - - - Right field
www - - - - CNAME - - Blank - - - - regd.force9.net. (cgi.force9.net. in your case Wink)
domain.co.uk. - A - - - Blank - - - - IP of CGI Server (See List below)
- - - - - - - - - -^ Note both trailling dots, which are essential

You are a force9.net customer - Please select the relevant IP address and use it for the 'Right field' above:

Plus.net - 212.159.3.3
Free-online.net - 212.159.3.15
Force9.net - 212.159.3.1
Charitydays.net - 212.159.3.19

------ Press "Add" to create each record.

You can now proceed to ask support to change the back-end records of the CGI server, so it resolves http://domainname.co.uk (no subdomain) to your CGI account

- Simply enter the domain name(s) in the box below and press submit.

Please note: If you make a mistake using the Advanced domain configuration tool and create any type of invalid additional record, the zone file will not reload and the changes will be delayed until the problem is fixed. Please be careful when using this tool.

Changes to your domain configuration take between 4 and 24 hours to be fully implemented across the service.

########################################

Note that you can try out your domain using http://ccgi.sociologyonline.co.uk/ once you have asked F9 to enable your domain on the new CGI server... Smiley make sure you tell them not to change ANY DNS records because they will, even though they think they are being helpful Evil

Jarv
tony2007
Grafter
Posts: 115
Registered: 15-08-2007

pointing to ccgi

Thanks very much indeed Jarv
I see my mistake now,
Should have entered 'A' and not CNAME as type and put an IP address instead of ccgi.force9.net in the right field.

so here's what I've entered now:

Left field Type Right field
sociologyonline.co.uk. a 212.159.3.1

From the instructions you pasted this now looks about right.

Thanks for your time
Cheesy
N/A

pointing to ccgi

no probs!! I only copied it from f9 contact us Wink

Jarv