cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

phpBB...?

N/A

phpBB...?

I'm new to this particular forum, but I can't help but notice its striking similarity to phpBB.

If the code for it is derived from that package, surely it should carry a credit somewhere? I've not noticed any.
20 REPLIES
thetribe

phpBB...?

Yes it is phpBB, but as far as I'm aware it is a heavily modified version of phpBB and although it doesn't visibly show the copyright notice it is still there in the source, which is allowed by the phpBB team (although they'd prefer it to stay)

May I remove the copyright from the footer?
While the phpbb group would appreciate it, if you would let the copyright message stay, you actually may remove it. However you will not get any official support from the phpbb group or the support team.
pennymachines
Dabbler

phpBB...?

I also host a heavily modified version of phpBB, but still feel it would be unfair and inappropriate not to display the phpBB forum credit link on the page footer.

I cannot find any phpBB copyright notice (except PlusNet's own), not even in the source page of this forum.

Very bad form PlusNet.
N/A

phpBB...?

I'm sure there used to be some reference to phpBB somewhere, but having scanned the various help and FAQ pages, the closest I can find is a reference to a link to the phpBB website at the bottom of the page (there isn't one!)
Perhaps it used to be there, and some well meaning dev type person 'cleaned' it up?

Does anybody else remember a link?
N/A

phpBB...?

It does get a mention and a link in the welcome post here

I reckon that covers most of the bases.

I seem to remember this coming up a couple of times over the years tbh, but cant remember the official line right now unfortunately. Sad
Community Veteran

phpBB...?

I think that sticky needs a little updating; seeing as Liam now works for plusnet Tongue
pennymachines
Dabbler

phpBB...?

Whatever... copyright notices don't get removed by accident.
N/A