cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

oscommerce - an idiots guide .. please?

N/A

hi there i'm quite new to all this php web site/adsl/domain name mullarky so i was wondering before i stuff everything up big style if there was an idiots guide to installing OS commerce on f9 servers
thanks in advance
4 REPLIES
N/A

Can't say I'd ever heard of the package before, but I had a quick stab at installing it myself, which seems to have been relatively painless. Here are a few pointers which may help you:[list=1]
  • I used the tar.gz package from sourceforge and downloaded this straight into my CGI space. Logged in to your CGI account, you could use wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/tep/oscommerce-2.2ms2.tar.gz?download to retrieve it directly.

• I made sure my umask was set to 0072: umask 0072

• I extracted the software: tar xvzf oscommerce-2.2ms2.tar.gz

• For ease of reference, I renamed the oscommerce-2.2ms2.tar.gz directory to oscommerce: mv oscommerce-2.2ms2.tar.gz oscommerce

• I set my browser to cgi.username.force9.co.uk/oscommerce/catalog/install and followed the on-screen instructions:

[list=a]
  • Install a new Online Store

• Import Catalog Database: Selected
    Automatic Configuration: Selected [I think the security settings actually prevent this from happening -- see later]
    Press Continue

• Database Server: humbug or rumpus (as notified by Force9)
    Username: username
    Password: database password (as notified by Force9)
    Database Name: database name (as notified by Force9 -- probably of the form username_f9)
    Persistent Connections: Not Selected
    Session Storage: Database
    Press Continue

• The test connection was reported as successful, and the database import file had the correct path, so I pressed Continue

• The database import was reported as successful. (A little surprisingly, it seems this can be repeated as necessary, which is what I'm doing to report these steps). Press Continue.