cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fair usage?

N/A

fair usage?

regardless how is explained,for the mentioned 1% it adversly affects the fair usage policy is not a very nice thing.sure it is,technicaly, part of the original contract,but it is not a part that is made obvious when sign up.Personaly i studied the contract quite closely when i signed up,and at no point was it exactly obvious that my downloads would at f9's will be charged for at a different rate from the speed i was paying for,let alone that i would be forced to have my contract changed mid year to enforce something like the 'fair usage' that is coming into effect soon. (granted there are parts warning that f9 reserve the right to change alter or basicaly do whatever they like with the contract(in more technical terms than that obviously,) but its not something they make out is likely.
a quick google search found me 3 isp's besides telewest that offer 2-4mb connections with a catagoricaly stated "no download limit restriction" in thier contracts,and also were substantialy cheaper than f9 for the speed,so must admit i am abit unhappy that f9 are taking fair usage to such a level as are intending.(And even more unhappy that i am likely to have to pay 90 odd pounds to change to one of those cheaper services due to a policy change that was not in effect when i signed the annual contract with f9.)
i dont expect a great deal of agreement with me on this since obviously "1%'" who may agree are going to be drowned by the 99% that it (supposedly) does not affect,,but doesnt anyone else feel victimised by this preposed usage/charges change? (Personaly i have even MORE reason than most i expect,as am 99% certain that the 8mb connection is not available my area as BT had alot of trouble even upping me to 1mb let alone 2 or more due to my remote location..as i am sure alot of other members will find too when they try to get a faster service through their lines)
3 REPLIES
N/A