cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless hardware

N/A

Wireless hardware

I am looking to purchase a laptop in the very near future (i.e. this week) which will be wireless enabled.

At the moment, my ADSL is provided by the Binatone USB modem, which has served me extremely well this past few years. Obviously this will be of no use to me when wanting to access the 'net wirelessly from my laptop in my home.

I should also like to keep my desktop connected so in effect, they are networked, with the possibility of adding my son's computer in later months. Am I better off buying a wirelss router and installing a wireless pci card into my desktops, or buying a wireless router and hard wiring the desktops to it?

I am an extreme novice when it comes to routers, I would prefer to be able to have a modem that could do all of this as when I turn my pc's off, I want the internet connection of too.

Any advice please (in easy terminology) on what I should be looking for, advice, etc? (Needs to be reasonably priced too).

Thanks

Mark
9 REPLIES
N/A

Wireless hardware

Hello Mark,

OK! I have worked with & installed both ADSL modems and ADSL wireless routers & have installed several wireless routers just recently. Yes! there are several suitable wireless products available at reason prices. I could recommend the D-Link DI 624+(AirPlusG+) this is a wirless router that can be plugged into either a BT phone line or NTL cable connection. The router also has x4 LAN ports on the back which enables you to hard wire other computers into the router if you dont want the computers to use a wirless connection inside your house/building.

**But if your setting up machines to use wirless YES! you would need to buy and fit (inside the desktop) a wirless network card which would then talk to your router for web access. This is what I have been doing for a friend locally to me.