cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Router problem

N/A

Wireless Router problem

Hope someone can help me with this because I'm getting totally frustrated.

Right, to start, I'm totally new to this so if any of you have any ideas can you explain like you would to a child Wink

Right my idea was to go wireless so i could stream High Def content to my Xbox 360. Bought all the kit, a Linksys wireless router and usb network adapter and the wireless kit for the 360.

Forget about the xbox for the moment. I thought everything was set up correctly but the USB adapter will not find the router. It finds the next door neighbours router but not mine. It will connect to the net if I hook it up via ethernet, but as soon as I try wireless it's nowhere to be found.

Could somebody suggest what I could be doing wrong and if you need any more info I'll try my best.

Cheers

Ian
6 REPLIES
orrery
Grafter

Wireless Router problem

Ideas:

* Have you turned on the wirefless section of the router?
* Have you enabled SSID broadcast
* Have you turned off all encryption on the router
* Have you turned off restriction by MAC address

regards, Ian
N/A

Wireless Router problem

Yes I've switched on the wireless section of the router.

No I have no idea what the rest of the that meant Shockedops:
N/A

Wireless Router problem

Right, I've checked the linksys setup page and the SSID broadcast is enabled. I 'think' I've turned off all encryption.

The restriction on Mac address I'm not too clear on
N/A

Wireless Router problem