cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Router and VPN

N/A

Wireless Router and VPN

Having recently purchased the Toshiba WGB1200A wireless router/modem, does anyone have any hints or tips or warnings about setting up wireless routers with F9 ADSL?

Also, I intend to use VPN to access my company's system for home working. Again does anyone have any experience of setting this up?

Many thanks

Simon
6 REPLIES
N/A

Giving you what little I do know

Hi,
I'm no expert in this area but I do have some commercial IT experience and I am MCSE trained. What I can tell you about is that amongst IT professionals its now a well accepted fact that when setting up wireless devices (inc routers and access nodes or access points/gateways out onto the web). Such wireless devices come with very soft and squiggy security settings which if you leave them unchanged you do leave your computer or network rather vulnerable to hacking attempts or cracking attemps.

The security protocol used is called WAP (wireless aquivelent privacy), you MUST change the default settings (the one's it installs for you when you first set-up such a device) otherwise your going to be far game for any wood be hacker/cracker attempting access to your system/s.

**VPN's
From my own limited experience of setting up VPN's its never as simple or straight forwards as alot of people will tell you. I would advise you to definately get a good book on this subject and talk to someone (if you can?) who does have previous VPN set-up experience. The more reseach you can do into the subject prior to setting up your connections the better off your likely to be and the higher the chances of success.

**Wireless does have its limitations as well as its benefits.