cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to store PHP scripts

N/A

Where to store PHP scripts

Hi,

Can any of you experienced PHP scripters let me know where I should store my PHP scripts ?

The problem is, if I store them in a directory within cgi-bin, the scripts cannot be accessed (browser error says "You don't have permission to access /cgi-bin/php/...") I've set the appropriate permissions (i think).
If I store the PHP scripts in a higher level directory, they can be accessed directly by anyone who types in http://cgi.username.force9.co.uk/php/ !!

Any solutions fellow PHPers ??

Thanks, Neil.
4 REPLIES
Sword
Grafter

RE: Where to store PHP scripts

Neil, I'm not that experienced but your scripts need to go in the root folder (the one you see immediately after FTP'ing in), not within the cgi-bin.

If you don't want unauthorised use then use .htaccess for security (see the excellent www.sheamus.f9.co.uk for more info if necessary)

Hope this helps,
Sword
N/A

> Neil, I'm not that experienced but your scripts need to go in the root folder (the one you see immediately after FTP'ing in), not within the cgi-bin.
>
> If you don't want unauthorised use then use .htaccess for security (see the excellent www.sheamus.f9.co.uk for more info if necessary)
>
> Hope this helps,
> Sword

Neil, your original location for your files was fine, they do not need to be in your root - actually that's not a terribly clever place to put them.

Placing them within a categorised directory structure beneath cgi-bin is fine.

You probably have incorrect permissions set - you want to chmod 755 your script file PLUS you need to have execute permissions on your directory too - so if your script is in the following path

cgi-bin/php/myscript.php

you need to:

chmod 755 cgi-bin/php/myscript.php
chmod 755 cgi-bin/php

I assume that cgi-bin has the correct permissions already - you'll only have to set your directory execute permissions once.