cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Oldest Box !

Metalguru
Grafter
Posts: 791
Registered: 04-08-2007

The Oldest Box !

My Ones Bigger Than Yours !

Everyone boasts about their new "cutting edge" PC system, with Super Duper Graphics Card, more RAM than Old MacDonald, a humungus hard drive and 64 bit processing power.

Well ........... lets get real here, not all of us can afford such machines, so I thought I'd start a thread looking for the OLDEST PC that connects to +Net.

(PC, towill ......... not user).

George Dixon I hear someone shout.

Well mines nearly that old.

I use an old Packard Bell PC, bought in 1999 (I think).
It's a Pentium 2 (400), with 4.3 Gb hard drive, and originally with 32 Mb of RAM and Windows 98. (Although I have rupgraded it to 128RAM, and now run Windows ME on it).

Anyone got anything older out there that connects to +Net ?

As for the stuff that don't connect to ISP's.
I ve still got a VIC20 in the loft.
Anyone know how I can connect that to the www?
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

The Oldest Box !

My main PC is about the same age as the one you describe:

Dec 1999
Originally 64mb RAM
Approx 8GB HD with 3 partitions
Win 98 First Edition
Pentium III 500MHZ
50X CD ROM

Now

320MB RAM
Approx 8GB HD with 3 partitions and Additional 120GB HDD
Win 98 First Edition - Which is knackered.
Pentium III 500MHZ
52, 32, 52 CDRW

Awaiting it's repair to install linux.

Also in the way of old machines I have a Zenith Portable Computer so old it only runs DOS as the OS and takes big floppies. and Viglen Genie 486DX with win 3.1 boots to DOS.

Will take some pics of these two later and post them.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

The Oldest Box !

o.k have put pics into a gallery page at http://cgi.mcm-communications.co.uk/gallery/Ancient-Computers
chino
Grafter
Posts: 446
Registered: 27-06-2007

The Oldest Box !

I am currently trying to hook up am on laptop (specs below)..

Dell Latitude XPi
Pentium-75 (75mhz)
Windows 95 (4.00.950)
8mb of Ram
420mb HD
video 1mb (mem)

Mark

Ps it runs nice and quickly
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

The Oldest Box !

On the subject of old PC’s, which is faster;

Pentium III 450MHz with 512Kb cache

Or

Duron 900MHz with 64Kb cache


I am building a PC’s for my farther out of old parts, and I have the choice, of the two processors with motherboards. I had swapped the Pentium for the Duron, but the machine now feels slower.

Both will have 192Mb ram. Duron board has on board graphics.

Chilly
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

The Oldest Box !

Quote
On the subject of old PC’s, which is faster

I had a similar one recently where i swapped out a PIII 500mhz with 512 L2 cache
for a 700mhz with 256 of L2
the results were that the 700mhz was noticeably less responsive although logic says it should be quicker being a whole 200mhz faster
so it would appear the L2 cache makes all the difference

I had a duron 800mhz back in the day and it was a cracking chip so much so that when i replaced it with the Athlon 2000xp i didnt notice much difference, i cant remember what the L2 was on that chip but 64k seems awful small
N/A

The Oldest Box !

Not used every day but I do have a Pentium 120 that I connect occasionally. It has a massive 32Mb memory and a 1.6Gb hard-disk that back in '96 when I got it thought I would never be able to fill...

Before I got VirtualPC for my Mac I used to use it to test my websites with Internet Explorer.

--> Stephen
N/A

The Oldest Box !

no7oliver, Daniel, I was wondering what are the ODT files? Because I just clicked on one and it tried to download as a Zip. Im asking becuase I am worried it may have done something to my PC lol.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

The Oldest Box !

The odt files are "Open Document Text" I use open office as my office suite and it's latest version (still in beta) saves everything as "Open Document" Files.
N/A

The Oldest Box !

Well I have a rarely used machine which connects to the net.
It aint a Pentium and it aint an AMD.
It as a Cyrix CPU with a speed of 233MHz.
2.1 HD, 32mb ram, 14" monitor with on board 2D only graphics but does have USB
It's okay for the net, anything else is snoozeville. Once the HD is anywhere near full it slows to a crawl.
I can't bring myself to part with it, mind you, who would want it?
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

The Oldest Box !

Havnt seen one of them running for a while, ive got a few cyrix cpu`s kicking about somewhere
dont know what speed they are or more to the point why ive still got them :?
N/A

The Oldest Box !

I refuse to take part, Homeaga1n, I'm realy insulted!!!!!!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

The Oldest Box !

Ooh moody! :lol: Wink
Metalguru
Grafter
Posts: 791
Registered: 04-08-2007

The Oldest Box !

Oh cummon towill lighten up. Wink

I'm sure you get the same warm nostalgic thoughts as I do .................... with just the mention of VIGLEN or CYRIX.

Anyone still using Windows 3.1 ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

The Oldest Box !

On the Viglen yep, I have full install disks for *runs to find disks*:

1) Windows 3.1
2) Windows 3.0
3) DOS 5 - Microsoft Branded
4) DOS 5 - Viglen Branded
5) Ami Pro 3.0
6) Excel 5.0 for Windows

All on Floppies!