cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stopping porn takeover of your username

N/A

Stopping porn takeover of your username

One of my f9 accounts is no longer used (no fault of theirs, it was associated with a former office role which no longer applies) and the only traffic now coming from it is porn , spam, hoaxes and scams of one sort or another. I want to cancel it and save my office £9.74 a month for something we don't need but we are worried that if the username (not a "domain" as such) becomes unused, it may be spotted by one of these "traffic aggregators" and sold on to a porn site, as has happened to many respectable sites. As a former church site we do not want anyone following an old link turning up a porn site. All f9 have said is that you have to keep the site paid-for. Does anyone know if there is another way round this ? I have suggested that we would be willing to make a modest one-off payment to protect the name but there was no response.
Do f9 have any sort of policy whereby if one of their accounts is being used for porn they will remove it, so that I could at least keep an eye on the old name if we cancelled the account ?
1 REPLY
N/A

Stopping porn takeover of your username

Perhaps I'm thick, but I can't say I understand your problem.

If it is just a username and not a domain, I don't see how it can be simply "sold on" as you put it, for it's actually <username>.force9.co.uk isn't it?

And I don't understand your statement about "the only traffic now coming from it". Do you mean "the only traffic now seeming to come from it"? In which case, it will seem to come from it whether or not you continue to keep the account.

If you do wish to retain the account, but not pay for it, is there not the option to downgrade it to a "pay-as-you-go" account? With these, the only costs are the connection costs, but as your other accounts will have the connectivity, in effect you will be able to retain the account free of charge. There are some stipulations that need to be observed in order to prevent the account being cancelled (things like receiving at least one email in a three month period, and such like if I remember correctly -- you could have these set to go off to the black hole) but apart from that I don't think there should be any problem in retaining it.