cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Still no luck with Java Applet

N/A

Still no luck with Java Applet

Hello Everyone...

I am still having trouble running a java menu system from my plusnet webspace...

I have tried EVERYTHING now!

Strangely it seems to work fine on other webspace i host on...

It relies on knowing the exact URL of the page that it is on for liscence reasons, but gives and Liscence error: invalid URL on plusnet.

Does anyone know if PLusnet use a strange configuration that i should take into account?

Any help would be apreciated as i've run out of ideas...

the url is :

http://www.doubelthink.plus.com/menutest.htm

thanks!
16 REPLIES
espresso_mick
Grafter
Posts: 225
Registered: 30-07-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Hi,

One thing I would say is....check your spellings!!

The above URL you gave does not work.

I changed the spelling to double...not doubel and got the Home page. The menutest.htm page was still not available though.

Also you have an e-mail link on the page which does not work.

It's set up as mailto:plus@doublethink.info

If you have a mailbox set up called plus, the link should be mailto:plus@doublethink.plus.com

Regards
Mick
espresso_mick
Grafter
Posts: 225
Registered: 30-07-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

lol....for some reason it has changed the letter p after the mailto: in the above post!?
chino
Grafter
Posts: 446
Registered: 27-06-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

yeh i would check your spellings....


I am using a java menu here...
http://www.studentaccommodationyork.co.uk/
&
mirror here..
http://www.yorkstudentaccommodation.co.uk/

both hosted with pls.net on this account

i had a problem when i was upadting i was updatind index.html and of course i had index.htm on there as well so when i did the updates they did not work as it was looking at the wrong file...

cUnDaLl
N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

> lol....for some reason it has changed the letter p after the mailto: in the above post!?

Thanks for the input Mick...

Yes, you are right! I did spell the URL wrong, but believe me i have made sure of the spellings when setting up the menu...

the mail link on the page is set correctly, doublethink.info is a domain that i use as well as my doublethink.plus.com account...

still doesn't get me any closer to a solution...

thanks again!

N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Thanks Cundall...

Do the applets you are using require to be registered to a particular URL? This is why i am having problems you see - i have registered the applet to the url http://www.doublethink.plus.com/sonictonic/menutest.htm and it rejects the URL as invalid.

if you check http://www.kaigan.co.uk/initial_page.htm you will see that i have the menu working fine on this site - which is hosted by UK2.net...

what can it be?


> yeh i would check your spellings....
>
>
> I am using a java menu here...
> http://www.studentaccommodationyork.co.uk/
> &
> mirror here..
> http://www.yorkstudentaccommodation.co.uk/
>
> both hosted with pls.net on this account
>
> i had a problem when i was upadting i was updatind index.html and of course i had index.htm on there as well so when i did the updates they did not work as it was looking at the wrong file...
>
> cUnDaLl

chino
Grafter
Posts: 446
Registered: 27-06-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet


http://www.doublethink.plus.com/sonictonic/menutest.htm and it rejects the URL as invalid.

not it does not reject the url as invalid it states license error for this url (what the java applet will be doing, it will be calling home and checking the url as the license will most likely only work on 1 url...)


http://www.kaigan.co.uk/initial_page.htm > it states Sorry, the page you wish to view is unavailable at the moment.

sorry i did not read the heading correctly i thought it say java problem rather than java applet as i used java script to make mine... well in fact a used a programme called xara webstyle as i don't like java applets as theres usally problems setting them up...

if u need xara i will see what i can do .....

cUnDaLl
N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Hi Again!

Yes, it does give a license error - but if you "roll - over" the applet window you can see that the license error is "invalid URL".

I have used this applet as i said on a couple of other pages - sorry i gave you the old link...

www.myojo-dojo.com

and enter the site to see the menu i am talking about.

I guess i may end up using java script - as you say a lot less hassle than java!

I won't be able to get the "tree-style" menu i'm after tho using that.

Thanks for your help

Matt

> http://www.doublethink.plus.com/sonictonic/menutest.htm and it rejects the URL as invalid.
>
> not it does not reject the url as invalid it states license error for this url (what the java applet will be doing, it will be calling home and checking the url as the license will most likely only work on 1 url...)
>
>
> http://www.kaigan.co.uk/initial_page.htm > it states Sorry, the page you wish to view is unavailable at the moment.
>
> sorry i did not read the heading correctly i thought it say java problem rather than java applet as i used java script to make mine... well in fact a used a programme called xara webstyle as i don't like java applets as theres usally problems setting them up...
>
> if u need xara i will see what i can do .....
>
> cUnDaLl
>

chino
Grafter
Posts: 446
Registered: 27-06-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

yes you can get a tree type nav bar...

Well you can if you mean you put your mouse on a link and a new boxes opens up with options in that box and then you can choose anyone of those link to go to..

eg

start > link 1
link 2
link 3 > link 1
link 2
link 3

Mark

Ps the way to test the applet to see if it works copy the source code from that othersite and files then host them with plus.net and if they work then you know it's a problem with your setup of the applet but if it does not then it's plus.net
N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Thanks again...

Yes - i've copied the files both ways and they work on the UK2.net site just as the same way as they are setup on the PLus.net site, but not the other way round!

That's how i know that the applet is having trouble "finding itself"

The way it works is that you give it a .class file that relates to the URL on which you have used it. It checks where it is, and then if this tallies with the .class file, it runs.

Somehow, the applet is not seeing itself at the URL it is at - maybe there is another way of addressing the Plus.net homepages server which would work...
..tech support can't help me...

It's a pain if i just can't use these applets on plus.net space... i'll have to use webspace elsewhere which i don't really want to do - or use another menu system! If you check that url i gave you - i think you will agree that it's a very cool menu system...

thanks

Matt

> yes you can get a tree type nav bar...
>
> Well you can if you mean you put your mouse on a link and a new boxes opens up with options in that box and then you can choose anyone of those link to go to..
>
> eg
>
> start > link 1
> link 2
> link 3 > link 1
> link 2
> link 3
>
> Mark
>
> Ps the way to test the applet to see if it works copy the source code from that othersite and files then host them with plus.net and if they work then you know it's a problem with your setup of the applet but if it does not then it's plus.net
>

chino
Grafter
Posts: 446
Registered: 27-06-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

yeh i do like it...

The only thing i do not like is that there is a scoll bar between the main frame and the left fame.

It's looks like it was created in 1024x768, however if you are web designer you should create everything in 800x600 as there are still a lot of people who use that screen resulation. So it may look goo but in a lower res it a pain to use scrolling all the time.

Don't get me wrong i am not having a go it's just that if you use 800x600 (i don't) it will not be a site you would like to go back to. I know when you create in 800x600 everything looks far to big!

But again it does look good but if you go to xara and download the free trial and just see what you can create!

cUnDaLl
Ps please dont take this to heart!
N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Yes, i know what you are saying about the resolution thing - but we made a deliberate decision to design the site for 1024x768 - although as you there are still people who use 800x600 - it's time to move on!

At one time everyone used 640x480 - now that really looks big!

If you look at that site with 1024x768 or above you shouldn't see they gray scroll bar...

Don't worry - i do work partly as a web designer/ programmer, and am used to criticism from clients about layout/design etc - it's all a matter of taste really - just a shame it's so hard to please some people!

I guess i'm gonna have to come up with another menu system....

thanks again!

Matt


> yeh i do like it...
>
> The only thing i do not like is that there is a scoll bar between the main frame and the left fame.
>
> It's looks like it was created in 1024x768, however if you are web designer you should create everything in 800x600 as there are still a lot of people who use that screen resulation. So it may look goo but in a lower res it a pain to use scrolling all the time.
>
> Don't get me wrong i am not having a go it's just that if you use 800x600 (i don't) it will not be a site you would like to go back to. I know when you create in 800x600 everything looks far to big!
>
> But again it does look good but if you go to xara and download the free trial and just see what you can create!
>
> cUnDaLl
> Ps please dont take this to heart!

N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Hi Mark,

> Ps please dont take this to heart!

but... just tried your student accommodation site on IE6, Opera 7.? and Mozilla 1.3a and the only one it worked on was IE6 - this worries me as I've only just (a few minutes ago) finished downloading the upgrade to Xara Webstyle 3.1, I didn't know that it was restricted just to IE Sad - surely it can't be? Have you tried other browsers yourself?

Tim



N/A

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

Hi Tim -

Yes i concur with this - just tried the site http://www.studentaccommodationyork.co.uk/ with mozilla and all i get is the title bar, this is strange because Java script should work fine on all new browsers, i guess the problem lies with an IE only html tag being used rather than the Javascript itself.

Matt



> Hi Mark,
>
> > Ps please dont take this to heart!
>
> but... just tried your student accommodation site on IE6, Opera 7.? and Mozilla 1.3a and the only one it worked on was IE6 - this worries me as I've only just (a few minutes ago) finished downloading the upgrade to Xara Webstyle 3.1, I didn't know that it was restricted just to IE Sad - surely it can't be? Have you tried other browsers yourself?
>
> Tim
>
>
>
>

chino
Grafter
Posts: 446
Registered: 27-06-2007

RE: Still no luck with Java Applet

right...

thats what happened to me as i personally use opera (version6), however about a week ago the bar started to work in opera so i thought i must have downloaded a patch for opera. I did know it mainly just works on IE but then when opera started working i just forgott about it, what i was going to do is put a link at the bottom saying cannot see the nav bar? click here and then i would just a plain html standard coded nav bar....

cUnDaLl