cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a Zoom X4 Modem

N/A

Hello,

I want to connect my computer to this modem using usb, and also a xbox.
I would like to know if anyone knows the settings for this modem. I had
problems using my binatone 500 modem, which would not work for a few
days due to driver problems, so i used the X4, but i am new to this modem
and are not sure what to do to set it up, as i could not get it to connect either
in usb or ethernet.

Thanks.
2 REPLIES
N/A

You may be in luck. I purchased an Zoom X4 modem when I first signed up to ADSL. So I'll do what I can to help.

I needed to connect the USB port to my desktop and the ethernet to my Laptop (before I got a switch). The modem is more than capable of handling your requirements. Although I am not sure of what specifics you would need to setup on the Xbox.

If I recall it was pretty much plug n play for me.

1) I installed the USB modem
2) I installed the USB drivers to the desktop.
3) I cannected the ethernet port to my Laptop (read here Xbox).
4) I configured my Login details into the Modem.

... and DHCP did the rest by assigning the IPs as needed.

For the record the Zoom ADSL USB port doesnt actually make the Modem work like the Binatone (and most other) USB modems, i.e. requireing login through windows etc.

The driver 'tricks' windows into thinking this is an 10mbps Ethernet port and all the login details are stored in the Modem. And so windows treats it as an extra ethernet port.

Can you post what version of the firmware you are using as the new firmware is quite different form the old?

Regards, Peter
N/A

By the way just for the record, its a good modem but my first X4 blew up during a storm :?

I desparately needed a new Modem so I ran down to PCWorld and they only had X3's left (but £15 cheaper and without the USB port).