cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Peak Oil

N/A

Peak Oil

After spending a much time reading up on the impending peak oil crisis, I felt like throwing myself under a bus! Does anybody have anything optimistic or positive to say on this subject? The internet's great for researching conspiracy theories and prophecies of doom, but good news seems a lot harder to come by.

The 'peak oil' theory essentially asserts that we're in the doo-doo not when we run out of oil, but when production peaks - thus producing economic collapse as demand outstrips supply. While we may have decades of oil left in the ground, the production peak might be much closer. Or we may even have reached it. For more info, just google "peak oil". And prepare to be depressed.
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Peak Oil

I can't say I've ever heard of "peak oil", but as a Geography A-level student I've met the subject of depletion of fossil fuels etc. several times...

One thing I would say though: the human population is, in general, pretty intelligent... who's to say that we haven't developed hovercars that run on coffee or something ( Wink ), before we get a scenario where demand is greater than the supply of oil? That'd mean that our energy consumption could remain high, but the amount of oil used would be allowed to decrease...

Thomas
N/A

Peak Oil

The problem is that the Oil companies are buying the technology that powers the next generation of devices.

Fosils fuels will be useful to years to come, if such technology was to come about, but the Oil companies are not willing to wait for the money from oil.

I wouldn't call you thick Thomas Tongue But Oil is used more than just in just cars. I can alsomost gurentee that you can't look around your room, and find an item that has had soem form of Oil used in it's finish or production.