cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Norton Internet Security Virus Update problems

N/A

I have some issues with Norton Internet Security 2004 and 2005. I have problems downloading virus updates and am being told that there may be problems in my browser settings. I have uninstalled 2004 and recently installed 2005, the same problem exists. I am no computer wizard and frankly am at a loss as to what I have to do to correct this. Symantec website is of little help, F9 could not advise me, and ideas please?
4 REPLIES
N/A

Symantec Product problems

Hello,

I have been using Norton Anti Virus 2002 for several years and know some of the kinds of problems that you can encounter with symantec products. After reading your thread, I would say that there are two main areas that you probably need to look at and these are as follows:-

1) You do need to have a look at the symantec product documentation for your specific program and have a look to see if you might need to change some settings in order to allow you to download the program updates. Also be aware that if the program is fully upto date there might NOT be any new updates to download (in other words the program connects to the update server but doesnt find any new updates, which is possible but not very likely though!).

2) Windows & Internet Explorer definately require the correct security settings to be switched on for your program to be able to gain internet access and to contact the "symantec update server". Your program will try and find the server using something called a "hostname" such as liveupdate.symantec.com etc and it requires the correct internet address in order to do this. And this is done bye somethng called "name resolution" or also called a DNS lookup. Hopefully if the hostname is resolved correctly and the right internet address is found and a connection is successfully achieved your product should then update.