cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Networking

Fixes: 142

Networking

I'm new to broadband but am happy with it so far.

I now want to newtowrk my two PC along with the ADSL router 612 so that both PCs can have simultaneous access to email/web and each other's files.

I have netowrk the two PC together but this was some time ago.

Bot machines run W2000 and I have a static IP address with Plus.net.

I bought 5 Port Ethernet Switcher thinking that this is all I would need plus cables but readingthe small amount of help within the Technical Guide I am now confused.

It seems that I have to have two Ethernet cards in one PC - one ofr the ADSL router and the other for connecting the two PCs. Is this right.

Also, how do I take care of IP Addresses?

I also want to connect a Colour Laser Printer so both machine have access to this as well.

Any help or pointers in setting up my netowrk would be greatly apprecaited.
--
Mike

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

9 REPLIES
Saturn
Grafter

RE: Networking

I'm not familiar with the 612 Router, but have done what you are trying to do with a Netgear 814.

First you shouldn't need 2 network cards in one of the PCs. What you need to do is:

Connect the router and PCs to your Switch.

If you want to use fixed ip addresses then:
Set your Router LAN IP Address to say 10.0.0.1
Set PC1 IP to 10.0.0.2
Set PC2 IP to 10.0.0.3
Set the Gateway IP on both PCs to 10.0.0.1
Set both PC DNS addresses to the PN addresses (212.159.11.150 & 212.150.13.150).

This should do it.
If you have other devices like printers with ethernet, set their addresses from 10.0.0.4 onwards.
There may be some other subtle things to do (like specify the LAN IP range 10.0.0.2-10.0.0.x), but by and large there isn't much else to do.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for a quick reply.