cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Locking down Port 135 - NetGear Router/Symantec Firewall

N/A

How can I lock down Port 135 on Windows Small Business Server with the Netgear Router and HArdware Symantec Firewall?

I keep getting hte F9 redirector because of access on this port and I have no idea which client PC is doing it.
There are no virii on the network.

Any help woul dbe much appreciated.
8 REPLIES
N/A

By "lock down port 135" I assume you mean you want to configure your system to prevent traffic outgoing from your network to the Internet? (You seem to be suggesting this is happening because of Windows Small Business Server -- software with which I have no experience whatever -- but, even with no firewall rules to prevent such outgoing traffic, why would Small Business Server be generating it, and to whom would it be sending it? Are you sure it's not a virus generating this traffic?)

Which model of Netgear router are you using?
N/A

Im sorry if it read like I was suggesting SBS was causing it.

I have no idea what is causing the traffic on that port at all.

Just F9 recommended blocking outgoing traffic on that port in order to get the redirector on the web surfing removed, as f9 think there is some program using that port.

Just wondered how you shut down a port.

The Netgear router we use is DG814.
N/A

I thought the router might allow you to do packet filtering, but I can't see any mention of this in the DG814 manual.