cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet Explorer 6.0 query

N/A

Internet Explorer 6.0 query

Hi

As a Plusnet newbie I apologise if this is the wrong forum.But does anyone know if it possable in IE 6 running under Win98SE to disable all cookies except for just 2 that I need for my online banking,and my interactive BT pages? I am finding that if raise the security level to block cookies,my bank site coplains that I do not have cookies enabled.I am wondering if the answer lies in tools/internet options/privacy/websites.If I enter my banks URL into that will the cookie settings be overidden even though I disable them all,or set security and privacy high

Thanks Ian & Lindas Jordan
6 REPLIES
egor44
Grafter

RE: Internet Explorer 6.0 query

Hi Ian or Lindas :-),

8< cut >8

I dont know if this will help, but, if you disabled cookies but made your bank etc. a TRUSTED SITE in tools/internet options/security, would that allow the bank to send you cookies, but stop them from undesirable sites.

Just a thought, Ken

N/A

Hi Ken

I tried your idea,and to a certain extent it worked;in that I was able to push the slider up a notch from "medium high" to "high" and still be able to establish a conection with my online banking.... so it has to be an improvmnet,but still have to return to "medium high" to get to my old ISP's webmail:which I suppose is no great problem.

Thanks

Ian.
N/A

Or you could bite the bullet and download opera for windows! Much faster, far more configarable, and will solve your cookies problems...

> Hi Ken
>
> I tried your idea,and to a certain extent it worked;in that I was able to push the slider up a notch from "medium high" to "high" and still be able to establish a conection with my online banking.... so it has to be an improvmnet,but still have to return to "medium high" to get to my old ISP's webmail:which I suppose is no great problem.
>
> Thanks
>
> Ian.
>

--
Turtel
http://www.turtels.cjb.net
wandelaar
Grafter