cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help please!

N/A

Help please!

I am trying to upload my website onto the web and am having no luck.

I've downloaded 4 different FTP packages and tried FrontPage but with no joy.

I am a total novice at this.

Can someone please explain in totally un-nerd language where I click what I complete etc. before I get carted off?

Thanks.
:?
10 REPLIES
N/A

Re: Help please!

Can someone please explain in totally un-nerd language where I click what I complete etc. before I get carted off?

In brief you need to copy your website to the htdocs directory on the homepages.force9.net machine (also accessible as ftp-proxy.force9.net). The exact process will depend on which of your four GUI FTP clients you choose to use.

On your client software, there should be an option to enable you to specify the remote host (server) to which you want to transfer the files. Here you should specify ftp-proxy.force9.net and tell your software to connect. You will get prompted to enter your password (which will be your normal force9 password).

If the software connects successfully, you will probably be presented with a user-interface showing two panes: one represents the files of your local machine, the other shows the files on the remote machine (the force9 machine). There are facilities for changing directories on each side. On the remote side, you should get to the "htdocs" directory - the files and directories comprising your website need to reside in this directory. On the local side, you need to navigate to where your website files reside.