cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting my work laptop to my home network

N/A

I recently bought a wireless 3COM OfficeConnect ADSL router and connected my desktop to the first hard-wired ethernet point. While it took a while to get the connection working (I'm a networking novice) it now seems to work (although the connection drops from time to time). I don't have a network server, just two desktops (one now with a wireless card that hasn't been fitted yet).

At work I have a wireless laptop. It is wirelessley connected to my work domain so that I can get access to the network servers.

When I brought my laptop home to connect to my new wireless home network I experienced a problam that I haven't been able to fix. I can see the internet via the wireless link, but I can't get access to any of the network computers (e.g. for transferring files from the laptop to the desktop).

I have set up file sharing on the relevant directories, and the laptop can see the network (the name appears in "network places") but I can't access anything below the network name.

Looking through the help system (yes, I've sunk that low!) it says that every computer should be in the same workgroup. However, the laptop is part of a domain group and not a work group and, if I change it, it stops me logging in to my laptop except as an administrator.

Has anyone had similar experiences and found a solution?
15 REPLIES
N/A

The problem of workgroup verses domains

Hello,
I think the problem you are facing is the difference that relates to domains verses workgroups and how security is implemented. The problem you have is that at the moment your work laptop is configured specifically to log you into your works or companies domain. The primary or domain server at your work place will hold your domain user account & all its details (or within the active directory if it uses one).