cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Belkin F5D7630-4A Wireless router modem crashing - Resolved!

francoise-hardy
Grafter

Hello to anyone interested. Firstly, I am a novice with computers/networks/modems, their language and a lot of their technical terms, even though I have worked in radio communications over 35 years. I bought the above Belkin product and randomly had problems with it coming up 'network not connected' or 'a network cable is unplugged'. Sometimes every few minutes, sometimes every couple of days. After a bit of searching on Google, I came to conclusion like one or two others, it might be something to do with the firewall 'security log' filling up. Sure enough, monitoring this showed that after poss 28 to 36 'attacks' it would reset, causing a disconnection of about 45 to 60 seconds. Most annoying!!
I contacted Belkin, and a quick chat to an adviser confirmed the sheer amount of 'UDP flood to host' items I was experiencing were the probable cause. He then explained how to correct this by altering a setting in a hidden menu.
Since then, I have not noticed one disconnection, though as the log (slowly, I hope!) fills up, it will surely happen.
I am very pleased with the router. Currently use 1 wireless usb connected pc and one lan cable connected pc.
I had previously contacted Belkin, and though the problem was not resolved earlier (mostly my fault), I can only say how patient, polite and helpful their call centre operators in India are. It is a freephone number for landline phones and if they are busy, they ring you back!

I hope this is of help to someone!

Best wishes to you all,
robinh.

CONTACTS:
Mailto:euroescalation@Belkin.com

Tel:00 44 (0) 1933 352070
7 REPLIES
francoise-hardy
Grafter

Please don't ask me tech questions, but here's the info: I was given:

Go to
192.168.2.1/firewall_spi_h.stm

brings up (normally hidden) page Firewall>Client IP Filters

Under heading >DOS Detect Criteria