cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about bannings etc.

steroberts89

Question about bannings etc.

Hi, Quick question If I may. (I'm a programmer, not a full network kinda guy, except I've kicked a few servers in my time.)
My understanding of CG-NAT is that our gateways are assigned a private IP's and when we need to access a server on the big bad web, we are Natted through a shared pool of IP's
My question is, if someone did that got them banned and resulted in an IP ban (there is X-ForwardedFor etc but this is seldom used) would that mean that all of plusnet accounts would be banned as to the external service they would appear to be the PN IP? or someone at plusnet would be forever asking to get the IPaddesses unbanned?
Also what about services which only allow a set number of connections from an IP address?
Just wandering :p
Cheers!
33 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Re: Question about bannings etc.

An easy way to look at these questions is to ask:  does this happen on my mobile phone?
/*all*/ mobile providers use some form of CG-NAT. 
MJN
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2

The answer is that would pretty much have to happen.
It may well be the case that, primarily to ease logging and greater control, there might be some influence on what port(s) each customer is assigned so that if a connection is suspected of abuse by a third party then PN could identify with relative ease which customer was to blame.
Ideally the third party's filtering could also operate down to that level and not block only by IP but IP and port but they'll only start doing that if they can detect the CGNAT in place (it wouldn't work for conventional NAT) and broadbrush blocking becomes more of a problem than the hassle that such measures introduce. I am not aware that such port-level blocking capability is currently all that prevalent, and I don't see source ports being captured in access logs.
MrToast
Grafter