cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very poor customer service

JJO
Dabbler

Very poor customer service

I am an IT professional and until recently I have always been impressed with the teams who answer support queries. But I'm starting to realise that more and more often recently they simply say "no we regret that can't be done". It is infuriating.

Let me give you an example which is having me pull my hair out:

Due to PlusNet's ongoing email issues they have suggested I move my client's 12 mailboxes to a proper email supplier. So we going to move the emails to Microsoft 365.

To do so we need to verify their domain (currently with PlusNet) with Microsoft. We do this by adding a TXT record.
However the PlusNet control panel does not allow addition of TXT records so I ask the network team to add the TXT record. Their response is we can't, find another way to verify the domain!

Really PlusNet you can't? Adding TXT records is not rocket science it is something that every other ISP and domain provider I have EVER come across can do. And even if you don't allow it from the control panel, your DNS team can certainly do this as you have your domains with ENOM and ENOM allow this.

The alternative option is obviously to transfer the domain out. But this is not currently possible because we would lose access to our emails before we had time to migrate them to Microsoft.

So this client who PlusNet want to have their email moved out is not being allowed to move their email out due to someone at PlusNet not wanting to add a simple DNS record. They are stuck!

I will not be recommending PlusNet further.

A similar thing happened a few days back when I asked for a PTR record. I got a customer support team memeber that said it simply could not be done only to find a knowledge base article saying it could and I had to point her to it to convince her.

So PlusNet why are you starting to fail so badly?

6 REPLIES 6
pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 20