cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VDSL Speeds

buzzgroup

VDSL Speeds

Hi,

A little background information before a ramble on for a while. 

I was with Sky Broadband, receiving between 72/78Mbps down and a constant 20 upload. Their price, along with functionality was lacking (I am an IT Engineer, so run kit at home. Static IP's is a must now). I suffered a speed decrease (my download suffered a speed decrease to 45Mbps and upload remained the same). Sky were not interested in this. I was out of contract, so moved to PlusNet. I then remained on PlusNet (under a different account) for a year (with the same speed issues - I didn't really pursue this, annoyingly). 

PlusNet were then doing a really good deal on Business Connections, which allowed me to have multiple static IP's, so I then moved across to the business connection and my speed then plummeted down to 42Mbps. I have logged a call with PlusNet, which resulted in my line profile being banded incorrectly (assume DLM). This resulted in a BT engineer visit my speed increased from 42Mbps to 55.3Mbps (with 16.2Mbps upload)

Looking at the BT Broadband Availability Checker - https://www.dslchecker.bt.com:

Range A (Clean) lowest speeds is 56.6Mbps download & 18.3Mbps upload  (highest is 79.6Mbps & 20Mbps upload)

Range B (Impacted) lowest speeds is 52.9Mbps download & 16.6Mbps upload (highest is 77.4Mbps & 20Mbps upload)

Where do I stand with this? I used to get around 70Mbps download, dead on 20Mbps upload and it appears that it's no longer anywhere near achievable.  I seem to be stuck on the "VDSL Range B - Impacted" speeds (just sitting on the lowest!)

The way I look at this is I used to sit on the "VDSL Range A Clean" and get the top end of this. Now I have moved to the VDSL Range B Impacted" and am just scrapping the lowest.

Also, on the BT Broadband Availability checker, it appears FTTP On Demand is available. 330Mbps download and 30Mbps upload. Do PlusNet offer this?

Thanks,