cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload Speed on Business Option 3

fceluk
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Upload Speed on Business Option 3

What should the upload speed be on Business Broadband Option 3?
We are currently getting 352kb/s.
Connection Speed  1632 kbps  352 kbps
Line Attenuation        52 db 15.5 db
Noise Margin       2147483647 db 7 db

DS Noise margin is a bit of a nonsense I know Roll_eyes
7 REPLIES 7
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

Hi fcel,
I've checked your BT asset and it's definitely on the Max Premium service (as it should be for Business option 3) with an 832 upload. Bear in mind though that this is rate adaptive and on longer or noisier lines some of the upload bandwidth may be sacrificed for extra download bandwidth which I suspect is what's happening in your case - especially given the erratic SNR margin you're showing there. Is that a router fault, or a possible line issue? Given what you're experiencing I'm tempted to suggest the latter.
fceluk
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

Thanks Matt.
On our previous legacy product (a couple of months ago) we had a higher upload sync, useful for the occasional inbound VPN but I take your point about it being sacrificed as the DL rate is poor (probably due to cabling).
The stupid Noise Margin figure was a Netgear router problem which was supposed to have been fixed by a firmware update ages ago. I'll take another look at that.
I haven't checked a download speed from a remote VPN client yet but it's usable.
Thanks for your reply.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

add say there is a fault some where strat.
my 51-52db line on max preminum ran at the full 832kbps up sync with my normal down sync of 3500kbps and my lines not the best qauilty
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

I'd be inclined to suggest doing a downgrade to IPStream Max and then a reupgrade to IPStream Max Premium.
Could be that the upgrade didn't work somewhere.
fceluk
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

Just done a reboot of the router and now have these stats
ADSL Link  Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 1344 kbps 832 kbps
Line Attenuation 50 db 15.5 db
Noise Margin 15 db 10 db
Much better Smiley Not too fussed with the drop in DL sync as it just restricts my clients' lunchtime Youtube activity. Wink
Will check a VPN when I get home tonight.
@James Thanks for the offer but may not be needed now.
@Asbo It's a V3 DG834G and could do with an upgrade. The phone cabling in this old building is a bit messy so say the least.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

Good to see.
Shout up if you need anymore help Str.. Fcel.
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed on Business Option 3

Will do James thanks.
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine