cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Priority of SSH on Business Option 3

mattewan
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎30-11-2009

Priority of SSH on Business Option 3

Hello,
I am just curious what priority SSH has on the Business Option 3 Package?
We tunnel a few things through ssh between sites and the transfers seem slow.
Thank you
4 REPLIES 4
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,389
Thanks: 6,221
Fixes: 1,451
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Priority of SSH on Business Option 3

Are you using standard ports (22) or other ports?
That may well have some bearing on it
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
mattewan
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎30-11-2009

Re: Priority of SSH on Business Option 3

We are using standard ports (Port 22) and we are not using any sort of compression as the data we are transfering would see no benifit from this, so there should be no overhead from that.
We are seeing 100KByte/Sec Speeds from our main site back to my office. The plusnet connection is doing the downloading (Not the uploading) and the site which is uploading the data is on an NTL Fibre connection which is 8mbit symetric.
I haven't done any transfers outside of the traffic shaping hours.... So I will monitor it after 00:00 tonight and see if it speeds up, which should answer my question.
Thank you
BenTrimble
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: Priority of SSH on Business Option 3

This should be prioritised as gold, with no rate limit.
mattewan
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎30-11-2009

Re: Priority of SSH on Business Option 3

Hello
I do appologise.
This was a configuration error with our server (which provides a HTTP Proxy for all the computers on our lan). We compiled the wrong network card drives for the internet network card and it was running at very poor performance. We only noticed this when testing the modem on a pc directly.
We have since compiled a new kernel with the correct driver and the speed is now excellent.
Again, sorry for the post, our fault entirely.