Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC for businesses

Robtheplod
Grafter

FTTC for businesses

Hello
I'm an IT engineer and I'm getting increasing amounts of plusnet customers who would like to upgrade to a fibre product. Most are in areas where fibre is now available, but i notice at present Plusnet are only offering residential fibre products?  The was a thread on this three months back and i was wondering if packages are due for release?Huh
On another note I tend to supply Draytek routers due to their performance and facilities and was wondering if the Vigor 2850n which is 'BT Infinity' compatible would work with Plusnet fibre products?  Would i need a modem as well or would this kit suffice?
thanks in advance!!
rob
11 REPLIES 11
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter

Re: FTTC for businesses

Business fibre (FTTC) is still under trial I believe, no idea when this will change.
Pretty much any WAN router that supports PPPoE will work with fibre connections as they are connected via Ethernet to the BT supplied VDSL modem.
I can't confirm whether the 2850n will work in place of the VDSL modem and WAN router as I have not used one. I suspect, given Drayteks track record it should be fine. Remember that the BT supplied VDSL modem must be available to connect to the line should a problem arise as BT/Plusnet may not be able to help if it is not their approved equipment connected.
Robtheplod
Grafter

thanks, in the meantime peter are business allowed to use your fibre products, even if they are a small concern?
I would like to stick with plusnet rather than go elsewhere if i can..
I have since found out the 2850n should work fine, with or without the BT box.. thanks
prichardson
Grafter

Hi Rob,
Fibre services are available under trial to business customers. This is accessible at http://trials.plus.net/