Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Domains - Business Usage

VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

Domains - Business Usage

If a (very small) Business buys a domain, can (or should) this be hosted on my BBYW (home) account, on a temporary basis?
The intention would be that during startup (when traffic volumes are low) the 100MB allowance would be ample.
Or would a business account be required for all business activities?
I've never done any domain arranging before.
My intention is to buy the name of a cheap registrar company.
I'd like to host it on PlusNet if possible - because they seem to offer excellent help and support.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

8 REPLIES 8
xpcomputers
Grafter

Re: Domains - Business Usage

I'm surprised you've had no reply on this...
I might be wrong, but a while back I think I read somewhere that it depended on many factors, but that mostly a business would need a business account unless...
- the business was basically just a hobby or very small
or
- the broadband account was still at the home premises & the business operated elsewhere, so only the website was on the broadband account
(these were just from memory, so my whole thinking might be flawed or outdated/superceded now)
So, from that perspective, I would read that if you are starting up a very small business... that starting it's website on your home broadband account would be fine in the initial stages. How long that would stay being acceptable would be hard to tell... and would depend on where the business ran from, whether broadband was used by the business, or was mostly inconsequential (like, for example, a gardener!). As the business grew it might become increasingly inappropriate, or might remain fine forever.