cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Ive requested to upgrade my account from Home Broadband Option3 to Business Broadband Option3 and it would appear from my ticket (#30091048) that im being ushered onto a product called teleworker given the email I recieved earlier stating the product was;
Quote
Force9 Teleworker Premier up to 8Mb

Im firstly wondering if theres any differene between this and the business options 1/2/3 as advertised on the main business broadband page at http://www.plus.net/business/broadband/ ?
My main reason for asking, is I will always try to buy the best package I can (SDSL aside Tongue ), I dont want anything to be capped, restricted and I need things like VPN.
Im still waiting for my ticket to be updated, but I made this post as the product I was pushed towards isnt advertised on the F9 website anywhere?
12 REPLIES 12
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Hi Adam,
It's basically an oversight with our account change tool.  When moving from a Residential to a Business product, we're not able to request the new products.  However, once you're on the Teleworker product, we can move you onto Business Option 3.
AWB70
Rising Star
Posts: 1,141
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎28-08-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Quote
My main reason for asking, is I will always try to buy the best package I can

How come the change to business from residential? I think some things like TV streaming are restricted on business products  Undecided
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Well, the main reason is usage and restrictions etc.
I dont stream video over the internet so im not too fussed about that.
One thing I have noticed since the changeover, D/L speed is incredibly slow (65kbs) from various download sources (http/p2p/torrent/ftp etc)
Might there be a restriction hanging over my account from the previous contract usage etc?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

You may need to reboot for the Ellacoya service offer to change.
Usenet + P2P are designed to be slow on Business products.
Simon_M
Grafter
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Quote from: Jameseh
Usenet + P2P are designed to be slow on Business products.

You can say that again!!  Shocked Sad Cry Angry
So why no suitable package for the Teleworker - the person who works from home?
They need a business package by day - what's more I think you insist that they have one if it's a business phone line, but come 5pm (I wish  :P) their needs are the same as every other residential customer.
This used to be one of Plusnet's key target markets. Until the product refresh it was even the name of one of the business products.
Someone who works from home needs everything a residential user needs plus most of what a full business account needs. We are in business - we know it will cost more. But it's just not available. I really don't understand why Plusnet don't understand this.
AWB70
Rising Star
Posts: 1,141
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎28-08-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

I was a bit worried when you mentioned you wanted the best product you could get for your money, as you are finding that business products are capped and limited in various areas. I posted on these boards a long time ago regarding why I should take a business product and was told PN would expect you to be on business products. At the time I mentioned that you get a lot more from a residential account for less money which still appears to be the case.
If I was working from home so needed the best of both worlds I would just have a residential package, as I see it there is no benefit at all from having a business tarriff, in fact the next package I take I will probably just get it in my own name and not let on its for business use.
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

I am actually starting to wonder myself AVWB.
Could a member of Plusnet actually confirm that im on the correct business product, as per my ticket #30160782
I am getting extremly slow FTP speeds (both up and down), almost 65kbs down which I dont think is correct.
I have ran various speed tests and all line test prove to be fine.
I've tested with a reasonable sized file and found the follow statements:
via FTP on my new product I get 65kbs
via HTTP from the same file and server I get almost full line speed
From another ISP via FTP I get almost full line speed
From another F9 ISP broadband line I get almost full line speed,
So why as a business customer, with almost 10 domains is the FTP restricted?
I have also tried various FTP/WGet programs and found them all to be the same.
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

@Jamseh,
I could live with Usnet and P2P being slightly slow, but not FTP.
I wouldnt expect this for a business product.
Looking at the Traffic Prioitisation Business Broadband 3 is set to gold for Plusnet FTP and External FTP, yet It feels like best effort Sad
Looking at the F9 customer service stats, target response times for tickets are 4 hours, average is 6 hours, yet I've been waiting 12 hours for confirmation of my broadband product Sad
Its slightly disappointing.
I've also received an email to tell me im approaching my limit, yet on the prioritisation page it states for business option 3 its unlimited:
Quote
Business customers - If you're a Business Broadband Option 1 or 2 customer, we'll email you when you've used up 80% and 100% of the monthly broadband usage for your product. (Broadband Option 3 customers don't have a usage limit).

Am I missing something obvious?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Ok, That's not right.  There shouldn't be any rate limits on FTP on Business Option 1-3.
Has your product change completed?  I'm wondering if this might not be the case if you're getting those emails.
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Quote from: Jameseh
Ok, That's not right.  There shouldn't be any rate limits on FTP on Business Option 1-3.
Has your product change completed?  I'm wondering if this might not be the case if you're getting those emails.

I was sent confirmation emails, so I assumed so.
Could you look into this for me or atleast get the ball rolling with the right people?
Thanks  Cool
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Adam,
What product *should* you be on?
Business Option 3?
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Difference between Teleworker and Business Option 1/2/3?

Yes.