cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

surfingmtber
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2020

Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Frustrated business customer. There is a fault at the exchange (I assume). Receiving muffled calls with a background dailing tone for some one else's number which is about 1.5 miles away, the old style crossed line.! Plusnet are not providing any telephone assistance and you cannot chat or send a message!! How do you propose I run a retail business? Whichever method of contact you select on the website, it sends you around in a circle to a dead end. Groundhog day!
We are all living in difficult circumstances, we are trying to provide
the best service we can to our customers. What about you Plusnet!?😡
Exchange is Modbury, South Devon
9 REPLIES 9
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 19,707
Thanks: 8,043
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Hi,

A warm welcome to the forums.  Yes contact is challenging and crossed lines are a real pain as often the line tests do not find an issue ... for all they can do is check that the line is OK, not that it terminates in the right place.  Engaging the other party in the problem resolution can also be helpful.

Until a staff member grabs this request, you might try the following...

  1. Dial 17070 - check that the circuit identifier (phone number) is yours
  2. Choose option 2 - if there is noise on the line, raise a noisy line fault report using the on-line phone fault reporting tool
  3. If the number is not yours - try ringing the number advised from a mobile and see where it rings - if elsewhere engage that party by asking them to report a line fault to THEIR phone supplier
  4. Try ringing your number from a mobile - confirm that it rings your phone - if it does not then speak with the other party (if they answer) and proceed as above

The Plusnet automated phone line test tool sometimes executes to completion without issue - sometimes it reports an error but has still raised an error report - you can confirm this by looking at your open and closed ticket history - see the link below.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

surfingmtber
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2020

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Thanks for taking the the time to reply. Tried the technique below, number is ours, pressed option 2, but no change.  In the background you can hear the pre-recorded message "the number you have dialled has not been recognised".  If someone calls in or I successfully call out, you can hear the person receiving the call very feintly, with the recorded message interfering!

Managed to speak to someone calling the number we are apparently crossed with (they were calling their sister) and have texted them to ask if the sister has reported the fault.  No reply as yet.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 19,707
Thanks: 8,043
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Did you try reporting a phone fault using the link in my signature?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

surfingmtber
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2020

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Can't see a link in your original message.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 19,707
Thanks: 8,043
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Third red button "Phone Faults".

Note: It is helpful to have logged into the user portal BEFORE clicking the link to the phone line trouble-shooter on the phone line issues help page.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

surfingmtber
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2020

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Thanks.  Done that.  Completed the form, the line was checked and there is nothing wrong. Takes you back to the general, dead end help page.  The fault is almost certainly at the exchange, but how to get BT to check it when I'm not their customer?!  There must be a way to get Plusnet to respond.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 19,707
Thanks: 8,043
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Plusnet are responsible for sorting this and will attend to it.

Take a look at your recent tickets - link below - one should show the results of the line test.  The problem is that crossed line faults are not always detected by the automated test systems.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

surfingmtber
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2020

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!

Thanks very much for your patience and time.  Clicked on the PN Tickets button and there are only two closed questions relating to broadband usage.  No Current or open tickets and no refernce to the test and fault.

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,591
Thanks: 2,577
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Crossed Line - Can't report fault!


@surfingmtber wrote:

The fault is almost certainly at the exchange...


Possible, but symptoms suggest that a contact with another line in a cable or joint twixt exchange and house more likely.

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)