cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Business Broadband Wrong Speed?

irisoftltd
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎31-01-2008

Business Broadband Wrong Speed?

Hi,
We are on the PlusNet Business Premier up to 8Mb package but our broadband speed seems to be only 2Mb instead of 8Mb.
Connection settings in our account details show:
Your High-speed Broadband Service
Your current broadband speed is 2000 Kbps
What does this speed mean?
The speed shown above is based on your sync speed. This is always a little higher than the speed at which data will actually be downloaded over your broadband connection. Find out more about sync speed.

Any idea what the problem is?
Thanks
4 REPLIES 4
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Business Broadband Wrong Speed?

Looking at your account it appears you are still on a fixed speed 2Mb connection. I can place an order to move you to MaxDSL if you want? This will be at no extra cost and should complete tomorrow morning.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
irisoftltd
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎31-01-2008

Re: Business Broadband Wrong Speed?

Yes please can you do this.
Can you tell me why all this time the speed has been set at 2Mb when we have been paying for 8Mb?
Thank you
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Business Broadband Wrong Speed?

I've placed the order now.
This goes back to when we initially started moving customers to MaxDSL, we started this in bulk however there were a number of issues with the Max service at the time. As such we made this an opt-in process and created a way for customers to request this at http://max.plus.net.
We have emailed customers who are opted in to our notification a few times about moving to MaxDSL now that the service is more stable.
TBH it costs us the same to provide MaxDSL as it does to provide a 2Mb fixed service. So there isn't any cost difference between the 2.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 31,296
Thanks: 3,878
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Business Broadband Wrong Speed?

it's up to 8Mb remember depending on line conditions Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 105.0.1 (64-bit (64-bit)