cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bonded ADSL

kplahnet
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎17-08-2007

Bonded ADSL

Hi All
This is just a simple question, That I have been asked by some of my clients
Plus Net do you support ADSL BONDING via MLPPP
If not are there any plans in the pipe line to do so
Thank you
Moderators note by James_H : changed title from all caps. : Please read the link:rules
18 REPLIES 18
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Hiya,
We don't currently, but are looking into potential solutions that we may be able to offer in the future.
ctech500
Grafter
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Hi,
just a quick question to satisfy my curiosity
If one had two ADSL feeds into a switch would there be an improvement in speed?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

As in two telephone lines, both with broadband going into one router?
Not currently.  It probably just wouldn't work.
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Hasn't this been discussed before concerning the use of a load balancer on 2 ADSL lines.
Just a thought Undecided
<mcgurka territory./>
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
ctech500
Grafter
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Quote from: Jameseh
As in two telephone lines, both with broadband going into one router?
Not currently.  It probably just wouldn't work.

I was thinking along these lines
ADSL 1----------------------- R1
--------------------------ES------------------PC
ADSL2------------------------R2
Router  1  and  router 2 (two separate ADSL feeds) linked together connecting them to a switch
apologies for the crude diagram Grin
zubel
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,793
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎08-06-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

With an old PC, three ethernet cards, two routers, and Linux you should be able to bond them together nicely Smiley
Either that or a nice hefty Cisco router Smiley
B.
kplahnet
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎17-08-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Hi All
Thankyou Jameseh for your reply
I and some on my clients would be intrested in the service if it is made avalable
for thoes who dont know the diffrence
Load balance verses Bonded ADSL
Load balanceing accross multi ADSLs help with the amount of date moved but not on speed.
Bonded ADSL make all the adsls look like one big fat pipe and there for helps with speed.
Hope to here some news then Jameseh
thank you
Mark
Grafter
Posts: 1,852
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Hi there kplahnet.
Good to hear of your interest in a bonded solution.
As James has mentioned this is something my colleagues in the Products team and I are currently working on. It helps when we know of new customers who are interested in this sort of solution.
As part of our current Partner programme www.plus.net/partners we have established that there is quite a bit of demand for this service. If you want to drop me a PM I'd be interested to learn more about your requirements.
Look forward to hearing from you.
MauriceC
Hero
Posts: 4,085
Thanks: 929
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Quote from: kplahnet
Hi All
Thankyou Jameseh for your reply
I and some on my clients would be intrested in the service if it is made avalable
for thoes who dont know the diffrence
Load balance verses Bonded ADSL
Load balanceing accross multi ADSLs help with the amount of date moved but not on speed.
Bonded ADSL make all the adsls look like one big fat pipe and there for helps with speed.
Hope to here some news then Jameseh
thank you

Well yes!  But it is still asynchronous?  More up than down - so if you are planning to put servers at each end of the link, you are limited to the slowest speed for data Xfer.  Its only OK if your needs match the capability?  Smiley

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

fceluk
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

Email I've just had in...
Quote
123Telecom can DOUBLE the speed of your Business Broadband in 3 easy steps.
Step 1. Transfer your current Broadband service to 123Telecom.
Step 2. Order a second Broadband service from 123Telecom.
Step 3. Upgrade your Internet router to a CISCO "DoubleSpeed" unit from 123Telecom
123Telecom DoubleSpeed broadband is just £68 per month (£34 per line).
Would you like me to forward more information?

Answer: no thanks we have it coming..... don't we?
HPsauce
Rising Star
Posts: 6,788
Thanks: 24
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Bonded ADSL

I do know that Be are (or will soon be) running a pilot (just on one exchange) which in their case with 2 lines can offer up to 48mbps downloads and 5mbps uploads.
techguy
Grafter
Posts: 2,540
Registered: ‎12-09-2008

Re: Bonded ADSL

up to being the operative word so don't bank on it being a replacement for leased line.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bonded ADSL

It's about £3-5k a month cheaper!
What's key to point out is that this sort of bonded solution is still ADSL.  It does not and will not offer the SLA's that a leased line will.
techguy
Grafter
Posts: 2,540
Registered: ‎12-09-2008

Re: Bonded ADSL

was point I was making James.
Depends what your connection is supporting, for example where I work it would not be suitable as we have around 3000 host systems.