cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

moemoff
Grafter
Posts: 132
Thanks: 1
Registered: 06-07-2007

www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Is the http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/ you ran still running? I get a Server cannot be found.

17 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Hi Moemoff,
http://mybroadbandspeed.co.uk is currently on its way to its new home in London.  this will improve the performance and also offer additional resiliency.
Apologies for any inconveniences caused.
moemoff
Grafter
Posts: 132
Thanks: 1
Registered: 06-07-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Ahhh tis not my end then!
Is it making the journey alone or are there other parts of the service relocating to pastures new? Does it not know the increase in house prices down there? Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007
Ianwild
Grafter
Posts: 3,835
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

The game servers are on the way down south too. We like to keep the stuff that needs good latency or lots of connectivity to the rest of the world down there, because the Internet doesn't pass by Sheffield like it does London  Roll eyes
Ian
pcoventry76
Grafter
Posts: 950
Registered: 27-08-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

true, most of the decent servers ( including the one i own) sit around redbus/telhouse/linx which as you say is the best place to be
Moderators note by James_H : Removed full quote of preceding post - it is not needed and is a breach of the Forum Rules
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,006
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Quote from: moemoff
Is the http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/ you ran still running? I get a Server cannot be found.

'tis now back up and running in it's new home.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,264
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Although it appears to be randomly giving me a 'Server Not Found' message for me (as if one of the servers isn't available) at the moment.
Quote
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
[colin@theta ~ $] curl http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host

I'm not able to get on the VPN at the moment either, hence why I'm posting here, so that hopefully I'll either remember in the morning or one of the Comms team will pick it up Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Yeah, it's failing about 25% of the time for me too.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

thn-speedchecker02 is working for me (just see the source of the page). Assuming the comment is actually correct
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,264
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Raised a problem on this now Smiley
atbs1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

I just tried to run this too, no go either. However this is a problem that was flagged, not actioned - nor acknowledged for 10.5hrs!
Maybe it's because this is just a minor problem...
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

The only reason this problem wasn't raised overnight is simply that, it was overnight and we did not have anyone monitoring the forums. TBH it's not really a major problem, there are plenty of other speed testers available and it's not stopping customers from using their connection.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

Quote from: Chris
The only reason this problem wasn't raised overnight is simply that, it was overnight and we did not have anyone monitoring the forums.

Was it not flagged up in Nagios? ;-) (Or some other such uber-monitoring tool that may now be in use).
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk

They didn't appear in the CSC view of nagios due to the service still being in beta and not fully released yet. Rest assured that when we launch it fully it will be monitored as per the rest of the platform.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff