cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

FIXED
handfordjeffes
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016

we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

We are still on cable and get 20mbs download but only 0.8 upload is there anything we can do to increase this?

11 REPLIES 11
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,286
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

Fix

@handfordjeffes Bit of a blunt question, but posting a screenshot of the result from here: BT Broadband , obscuring you phone number, may help us to make suggestions.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,067
Thanks: 5,722
Fixes: 407
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

@handfordjeffes  if all that's available is normal broadband (ADSL2) then there's not much that can be done to improve it. It MIGHT be able to be improved to 1Mb IF interleaving is currently enabled and can be disabled on the upstream.

If you'd like to post the results from the BTw availability checker https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL (redacting any address or phone number details as this is a public forum) then we'd be able to advise if anything else is available

edit:John beat me to it

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

handfordjeffes
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

here you go 

 

handfordjeffes
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

looking at the results it appears at most we can only get 1.5mb/s so we won't see a great improvement until fibre reaches us

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,067
Thanks: 5,722
Fixes: 407
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

I'm afraid you cant even get 1.5, that's only available for Annex M which Plusnet ( and most other ISPSs ) dont supply. The theoretical maximum for ADSL2+ is 1.3Mb. According to the availability checker it says your Observed speeds are 23.9 down and 1.1 up. Do those agree with the stats from your router ?

To be getting the download speed you are, you must be very close to the exchange. I suspect you may be on an EO (Exchange only) line i.e not through a local cabinet, which would explain the lack availablity of FTTC (Fibre to the cabinet) , since you dont have one!

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,286
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

Out of interest, @handfordjeffes - What exchange are you on? And how close are you to it?

John
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,350
Thanks: 1,110
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

@handfordjeffes 

Although you didn't include it, at the very top of the resuts window next to you phone number will be a note of the

connection you're on - either Exchange Only or Cabinet XX.

 

Have you checked to see if any Alternative suppliers are active in your area.

 

Brian

handfordjeffes
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

about 100m away

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,286
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

OK, so quite possibly an EO line, then.

John
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,350
Thanks: 1,110
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

@handfordjeffes 

You can check if OR have any plans for you here

https://www.openreach.com/

 

You can also check for other networks here. Note this only shows active suppliers, not those in Build or Planning.

https://checker.ofcom.org.uk/

 

Brian

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,779
Thanks: 5,235
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: we can't get fibre yet so how can we increase our (0.8Mbs) Upload speed?

@handfordjeffes 

Have you considered/investigated using mobile data, it's not very expensive these days?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'