cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

very slow speed

dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

very slow speed

can any one help iam getting download speeds of  0.13 and up load speed of 0.27
i got faster speed on sky can some please help !!
39 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: very slow speed

Please post the stats from your router - speed, attenuation and noise margin.
Also the results of a BT Speedtest
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

the speed test results are
Download speedachieved during the test was - 124 Kbps
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :224 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 135 Kbps
how do i get the stats for the router?
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: very slow speed

Welcome to the Forums
this will show you  http://kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

thank you
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

think this is it
Link Information
   

Uptime: 0 days, 14:23:02

DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 224

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 12.5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.5 / 52.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 18.0 / 16.5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 20 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 1,421

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 436
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: very slow speed

Please plug the router into the test socket with nothing else connected and report the stats again
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: very slow speed

what does this check show,,  dont publish your phone number  http://kitz.co.uk/adsl/adslchecker.php
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

here they are
Link Information
   

Uptime: 0 days, 14:32:11

DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 224

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 12.5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.5 / 52.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 18.0 / 17.0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 20 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 1,423

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 437
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

Exchange: Ilkeston BT Code: EMILKES
Location: Moss Road, DE7 5GP
Distance:- Direct:    2.72 km
  (appx)* By Road: 3.38 km
  Status 
ADSL enabled: January 31, 2001
DSL Max enabled:  March 31, 2006
SDSL enabled : Enabled
21CN due : (PSTN) No Info
21CN WBC (Broadband) Enabled 21.03.09
  Broadband Access† Market 3

Available ISPs Other Broadband Technology & LLU Providers 
Although your exchange is BT owned, this does not limit you to just BT Broadband and a vast range of ISPs are able to supply you with adsl.
Available ISPs are too numerous to list, but some examples would be: Zen, Plusnet, IDNet, Enta, etc 
     


BT Line Speed Estimation 
Fixed ADSL:  256 kbps (0.3 Mb) 
DSL Max:  250 kbps (0.3 Mb) 
  21CN WBC : Not Available 

i used to get 1 gb with sky iam confused.com
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: very slow speed

The second set of results can't be from the test socket as the router up time is over 14 hours
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: very slow speed

I suspect you were on LLU with sky.
Not sure with your Exchange ILKESTON TE
no mention of Fibre being installed either
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: very slow speed

Hi dpoole,
Do you leave the router on all the time, or just when you want to connect? If you leave it on all the time we can see some disconnections on there which may be the cause of the slow speeds.
Have you noticed any connection drops at all?
Either way, please try the connection with the router in the test socket (behind the front plate of the master socket) and see if it still drops or if the sync speed is still slow. If so we'll be able to get a fault raised for you as even if the disconnections are you rebooting the router there's a lower threshold breach showing (you're syncing below the fault limit set on your line).
You can raise us a fault at http://faults.plus.net
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

Link Information
   

Uptime: 0 days, 0:09:54

DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 1,088

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 16.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.5 / 52.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 18.0 / 6.5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 13

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
these are settings from test socket, i have rased i note on the faultpage already
dave
dpoole32
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎14-06-2010

Re: very slow speed

matt.
i do mostly leave it on, have disconnted i few time thinking this would get me a faster connetion, we havnt noticed drop in speed at all it been that speed since been on plusnet
dave