cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

BandB
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 31-10-2015

very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

Hi,
For last 2-3 months we have suffered very low line speeds.
A friend of ours who works in IT has had a look at this for us and said that the line appears to be capped at a low rate and requires a reset due to stuck profile.
The clue was the upstream sync rate which is 283KB/s. This should be 448Kb/s (normal) or 832Kb/s (premium).
In troubleshooting the following were carried out:
Router plugged into test socket
Quiet Line Test (17070 option 2) clear
Microfilter changed
The line stats, speed test results and the BT Broadband availability checker results  are attached,
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 6:46:55
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 887 / 283
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 33,31 / 88,58
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,6 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30,7 / 59,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,8 / 6,5
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1.053 / 18.016
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 181 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 128 / 0
BandB
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

Your friend hasn't got it quite right
You are on ADSL2 so the upstream rates which he quoted aren't relevant as they are for ADSL1 (20CN) and in any case your upstream is 887kbps
Your problem is the downstream and the first thing which stands out is your attenuation of 59dB which means that you will never get decent speeds
The fact that your downstream noise margin is 6.5dB and that the upstream speed is much higher than the downstream indicates that in all probability you will be losing all the higher frequency bands
Have you raised a speed fault with Plusnet
Having said that I am surprised that you are on g.992.5 as I would have expected that you would have been on g.995,3 at the most. Have you set the router to use ADSL2+ rather than automatic
HOWEVER
From the expected speeds something is seriously wrong with your line as the attenuation should be much lower
Can you put your post code into http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/broadbandchecker.php (not telephone number) and it will give the estimate distance to the exchange
BandB
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 31-10-2015

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

Distance info:
Exchange: Millom BT Code: LCMLM
Location: ***** Road, LA18 5**
Distance:- Direct: 4.16 km
(appx)* By Road: 5.5 km
Status
ADSL enabled: May 26, 2004
DSL Max enabled: March 31, 2006
21CN WBC (ADSL2+) Enabled
21CN due : (PSTN) Info N/A
FTTC Some areas
SDSL enabled : Enabled
Broadband Access Market Broadband Access† Market 2
BT price band BTw Pricing Band Band E
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

In which case the estimate is a load of rubbish
Can you do it again but not using your phone number - click on the address checker at the bottom http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/ADSLChecker.TelephoneNumberOutput
BandB
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 31-10-2015

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

Yes, rather different....
Featured Products
Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Downstream Range(Mbps)
Availability Date
High Low High Low
FTTC Range A (Clean) 60 39.8 16.3 9.9 -- Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted) 50.6 30 15.8 7.2 -- Available
WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 1 -- 1 to 3.5 Available
ADSL Max Up to 1 -- 0.75 to 2.5 Available
WBC Fixed Rate 0.5 -- -- Available
Fixed Rate 0.5 -- -- Available
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

In which case raising a fault may or may not help much as your problem is related to the distance from the exchange and/or the quality of the wires.
If I were in your position I would phone Customer Options on Monday (number in my sig) and select the option I am thinking of leaving
Once you get through ask them what deal they can offer for Fibre which has nominal speeds of 40/2 (so up to 40Mb/s down and up to 2Mb/s up) and judging by those numbers you should get nearly full speed
The other thing which needs fixing is the fact that your phone number gives completely stupid results which indicates a problem with the BT database
Previously I would have suggested raising a ticket but given the ticket restrictions that won't work so hopefully a member of staff will pick it up on Monday
BandB
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 31-10-2015

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

Many thanks, very helpful.
BandB
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

I've just had a look in to this and I'm trying to find out how we can potentially get the estimates corrected so they match.
Checking the line length from our side, it's around 10Km :/
Your line has become banded on the downstream, this is done to try and provide stability. I'm going to remove the banding now and hopefully you'll see an improvement in speed.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: very slow line speed - capped line/stuck profile?

Chris
Are you sure about the distance given the distance by road and the reported attenuation and that for 10km line length you probably wouldn't get ADSL at all