cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

torrents not working with plusnet?

Symbil
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-10-2010

torrents not working with plusnet?

Hello,
I've just switched to plusnet from sky and for some reason bit torrents will not start downloading. I've also tried vuze incase it was a problem with bit torrent but that didn't work either. Has anyone else had this problem with plusnet and if so do you know what I can do to fix it?
Thanks
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

check this setting https://portal.plus.net/surf/
Symbil
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-10-2010

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

Thanks - it says my surf access is currently unrestricted so presumably it's not that that's the problem?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

As someone who doesn't use torrents I am guessing a bit but you could try disabling the Plusnet firewall https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall
Also, when you moved to Plusnet did you retain the Sky router or use a different one. If a different one is the firewall blocking things
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,863
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

I have no problems.
I use Transmission, but other clients e.g. Vuze work O.K.

Symbil
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-10-2010

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

Thanks for your suggestions. I followed the link but my plusnet firewall is currently off so it's not that that's the problem.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,524
Thanks: 1,815
Fixes: 224
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

are there any reported tracker errors?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,863
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

I'm presently downloading a torrent.
It is working, slowly.

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,355
Thanks: 700
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

If you're honestly using bittorrent after plusnet gave away file sharers details to ACS who then published them online then you are clearly in need of a rethink about your online activity.
Plusnet are not and never have been file sharing friendly.
If you want to share files around these days then the only real viable option at the moment is a PAYG mobile broadband dongle that isn't registered and the purchased as a voucher using cash (so you don't need to register a card and your details). That really is the only way to remain annonymous online now.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,296
Thanks: 30
Registered: 19-07-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

Not all torrenting is illegal, for instance, Final Fantasy XIV's updater uses P2P (the Alpha/Beta you could use uTorrent to download the test client), Linux distro's use P2P to save money on bandwidth costs, P2P is an efficient way of transferring a lot of data cheaply.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,355
Thanks: 700
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

That is true but in the eyes of PN its all the same thing and thus they'll either throttle it or send you down the pan legally.
PN = BT. BT = don't give a damn about customers, just the money.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,296
Thanks: 30
Registered: 19-07-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

True, torrenting during peak hours is like trying to put out a fire with a chocolate extinguisher which is why I avoid torrents like the plague, even off peak (plus I have no idea how to port forward on my router....)
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,863
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: torrents not working with plusnet?

Most "modern" torrent programs don't need manual port forwarding.
Depends on your router, though AFAIK.