cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

hodge2007
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-12-2012

thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

hi i have the Thomson TG585 v8 router and have just bought a Finlux 32F8030-T tv, i am having trouble pairing them through wifi, the tv sees the router, but when i put my password in it says connecting then flashes up disconnected. any idea? what is clear the button on the front of the router for? any help would be great thanks.
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,645
Thanks: 227
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

Double check your password, any zero's will have a slash through them, and it is case sensitive.
hodge2007
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-12-2012

Re: thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

hi, i have done that, and it is correct, 2 iphones and 2 laptops and my xbox are all connected to the wifi, so am wondering if its something to do with the tv?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,645
Thanks: 227
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

Might be protection type, do you have wpa with tpk/aes or just aes?
hodge2007
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-12-2012

Re: thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

do i have what? Shocked Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,645
Thanks: 227
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

In the wifi settings there are different types of authentication, tpk+aes it he commonest with wpa.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,364
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: thomson router to finlux smart tv issue

Quote
so am wondering if its something to do with the tv?

Quite probably, there not being much ( if any information about the wireless ( dongle? ) fitted its difficult to suggest what might be the problem but given the sort of problems sometimes seen with other wireless adaptors the following are worth trying:
Temporarily, set the wireless security on the router to None and see if the TV can connect , that will prove if the wireless adaptor works at all. Do NOT ( repeat NOT ) leave the router in this state, you must put security back to WPA at least ( see below ) , whatever happens. If that doesn't work the wireless on the TV is not working at all.
If above works then try combinations of:-
Changing security to WPA only.
Changing the SSID on the router to something simpler than the default ( say 8 alpha characters ).
Changing the password to something simpler than the default ( say 8 alpha characters )
Hopefully one of those will work.