cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

speed problem

dermydoc
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-06-2012

speed problem

hi, i recently had some problems regarding broadband disconnections recently which started randomly and steadily got worse, after speaking with a plusnet employee over the phone who performed a line test which produced no faults although acknowlodging the disconnetcions the cut offs have since stopped, the down side to this is a far inferioir speed of 1mbps on average compared to around 6mbps beforehand, here are my stats
Uptime: 0 days, 0:15:20
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 18.536
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 1.150
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 3,39 / 26,38
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,0 / 18,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 11,0 / 21,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 28,5 / 21,5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
thanks in advance for any help Smiley
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: speed problem

With that noise margin, you need to resync, do so as follows (ignoring the swapping - make a cup of coffee/tea!)
Use this Disconnect method -
Do a Disconnect of your PPP Internet session with the ISP - you need to login to the modem/router interface and look for the Disconnect button to click on. On the Thomson modem/routers you will typically find it in the box marked Internet as shown here. Now wait a few minutes, power down. Then wait 10 minutes (during this time swap any filters, modem/router, connect to test socket, etc. - it doesn't matter if you take longer than 10 minutes) and then power up again (You may need to login to the modem/router and click on Connect to re-establish the PPP Internet session). Check the stats immediately (The Noise Margin [SNRM] shown is usually the current Target Noise Margin).
I usually recommend you do this no more than 5 times in an hour, and then leave it alone for the rest of the day.  Remember the reason for this procedure is to help prevent the exchange DLM from thinking you have a dropping connection (or a worse one than you may already have).
You can user the Disconnect/Connect (without a power down) to Gateway hop.
When you are reconnected post a copy of the new stats.
dermydoc
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-06-2012

Re: speed problem

hi, thanks for the reply!
i synced as told before and no difference in the noise margin or broadband speed?
new stats
Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:48
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 19,072
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 1,150
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 31.00 / 156.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 18.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 11.0 / 21.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.5 / 22.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: speed problem

At risk of being proved wrong again  Embarrassed it looks very much as though your connection has been banded and will need a Digital Care Team member to fix
dermydoc
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-06-2012

Re: speed problem

How do I conntact them?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 1,401
Fixes: 75
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: speed problem

Via this forum.....if one of them spots it.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: speed problem

Hi there,
The line is indeed banded between 576 and 1152 however until it stops dropping connection we can't do anything about that I'm afraid:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image1339169468167.png" />
I'd strongly recommend testing with the router plugged into the master socket (or even better the test socket behind the master socket front plate, if it has one) and seeing if the line still drops. If it does then raise us a fault at http://faults.plus.net and we'll get it sorted for you. Once that's done we'll be able to get the banding removed, assuming it hasn't already happened during the course of the investigation.
dermydoc
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-06-2012

Re: speed problem

Iv had the router plugged into the master socket since yesterday and ignore the disconnections. Today, they are a mixture of. Me upgrading the router firmware and attempting to resync, could sleep last night lol
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: speed problem

Are you able to identify which of the other disconnections on the chart were the problems you had and which were you trying to resync?
dermydoc
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-06-2012

Re: speed problem

All of today are Fine, can't account for the. Rest of themm, must. Have been the extension as I now have the router plugged into the master and has been fine since!
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: speed problem

When you say Master, does it have a test socket behind the front-plate (LHS or RHS), or is that where your are already plugged in?
If you are plugged into the Test socket can you tell me what colour wires are connected to the front-plate and which terminal numbers they are connected to?
dermydoc
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-06-2012

Re: speed problem

My brother came Around today and Fitted an adsl faceplate to the master socket with the router plugged in, havnt noticed any disconnections since!
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: speed problem

Posting the stats just after you synced could have been handy. What are the stats like now?
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: speed problem

Hi dermydoc,
The graph below is from Friday when the faceplate was fitted. There does still seem to be an issue somewhere, as you can see from the number of drops on Saturday. I'd suggest using an in-line filter in the test socket.
Jojo Smiley