cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

vetterlein
Grafter
Posts: 68
Registered: 11-01-2008

so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Now I have FTTC , I have two 'boxes' in t he house:
DSL---> BT Modem  --> CAT6-> Techicolor 582
The Techicolor has a web interface (and a telnet interface) that would normally  tell me lots of good things about the DSL ... but of course it can't
because the line does not even get to the box.
The only place which would know the DSL characteristics would be the BT modem ... can I get stats off this somehow?
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Nope
The only way is indirectly via the BT speedtest where the IP profile is about 96.7% of the sync speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Or by 'hacking' the moden (if it's a Huawei HG612).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,214
Thanks: 1,575
Fixes: 172
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Which of course would no doubt void any warranty and probably against the T's & C's

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Do a forum search, there is at least one thread where I've seen Modem stats!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Quote from: dvorak
Which of course would no doubt void any warranty and probably against the T's & C's

Of course it's not allowed, just technically 'do-able'  Smiley
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
sjrinfroyle
Grafter
Posts: 895
Registered: 08-05-2011

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

I stil do not understand why BT lock these modems down! I had an Openreach engineer round the other day and even he didn't understand!
Bald_Eagle1
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 24-06-2011

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Quote from: Gigabit
I stil do not understand why BT lock these modems down!

Maybe so that we can't mess with them & blame BT when our messing ruins our connections.
Or..........
[cynic]
So that we can't see exactly how bad our connections really are & to stop us having the proof with which to complain?
[/cynic]
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Have I understood this right - Telnet into the Modem, type sh and at the # prompt then enter xdslcmd info --pbParams
Edit: Also where does http://192.168.1.78/html/content.asp ; fit in with all this?
Bald_Eagle1
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 24-06-2011

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Quote from: Anotherone
Have I understood this right - Telnet into the Modem, type sh and at the # prompt then enter xdslcmd info --pbParams
Also where does http://192.168.1.78/html/content.asp  fit in with all this?


Telnet Login is admin
password is admin
sh starts Busybox

Welcome Visiting Huawei  Home Gateway
Copyright by Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
Login:admin
Password:
ATP>sh

BusyBox v1.9.1 (2010-10-15 17:59:06 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
# xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Max:    Upstream rate = 4829 Kbps, Downstream rate = 32264 Kbps
Path:   0, Upstream rate = 4815 Kbps, Downstream rate = 26981 Kbps
Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (0,95) (868,1207) (1972,2783)
DS: (32,859) (1216,1963) (2792,3959)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (0,95) (868,1207)
DS: (32,859) (1216,1963)
      VDSL Port Details       Upstream        Downstream
Attainable Net Data Rate:       4829 kbps         32264 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power:        6.3 dBm          12.8 dBm
============================================================================
 VDSL Band Status        U0      U1      U2      U3      D1      D2      D3
 Line Attenuation(dB):  8.3     54.3     N/A     N/A    21.8    64.2    0.1
Signal Attenuation(dB):  9.3     53.7     N/A     N/A    21.8    64.2     N/A
       SNR Margin(dB):  6.0     6.1      N/A     N/A    6.5     6.6      N/A
        TX Power(dBm): -4.2     5.8      N/A     N/A    11.4    5.8      N/A
#


http://192.168.1.78/html/content.asp  is the modem's GUI
(actually the default 192.168.1.1 for my connection)

Another useful command is xdslcmd info --stats
That provides the usual connection stats including error counts etc.
Windows users can also fully graph their connection. See the link in the first post here:-
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,10552.0.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-01-2009

Re: so how can you see 'sync speeds' on fibre

Don't forget that the modem isn't, initially, connected to your LAN by IP.
As well as loading new firmware, you need to also connect the 2nd LAN interface to your internal network.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.