cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

slower speeds and higher pings "RESOLVED"

St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

slower speeds and higher pings "RESOLVED"

Ive noticed over the past 3 weeks my connection speeds been up and down and ive noticed an increase in my ping. My ping used to be around 25-30 but the past 2-3 weeks its been 30-40.
Ive just ran a speedtest and it shows me with a high ping.

Normally my connection is speed is just under 8 meg and ping is 30.
So as you can see my speed is dropping and my ping is increasing ;(
Ill monitor this over the next few days and see how it goes.
219 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: slower speeds and higher pings

Modem/Router stats is the key to what could be going on!
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings

Mode: ADSL_2plus
Traffic Type: ATM
Status: Up
Link Power State: L0  
 
 Downstream Upstream
Line Coding(Trellis): On On
SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 54 301
Attenuation (0.1 dB): 320 138
Output Power (0.1 dBm): 0 123
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 9984 1052
 
 Path 0   Path 1  
 Downstream Upstream Downstream Upstream
Rate (Kbps): 9814 444 0 0
 
MSGc (# of bytes in overhead channel message): 59 10 0 0
B (# of bytes in Mux Data Frame): 151 63 0 0
M (# of Mux Data Frames in FEC Data Frame): 1 1 0 0
T (Mux Data Frames over sync bytes): 2 1 0 0
R (# of check bytes in FEC Data Frame): 12 0 0 0
S (ratio of FEC over PMD Data Frame length): 0.4939 4.5309 0.0 0.0
L (# of bits in PMD Data Frame): 2656 113 0 0
D (interleaver depth): 64 1 0 0
Delay (msec): 7.90 1.13 0.0 0.0
INP (DMT symbol): 1.15 0.0 0.0 0.0
 
Super Frames: 6041658 723102 0 0
Super Frame Errors: 0 0 0 0
RS Words: 785415670 0 0 0
RS Correctable Errors: 47136502 0 0 0
RS Uncorrectable Errors: 315857 0 0 0
 
HEC Errors: 4294967044 54124 0 0
OCD Errors: 36 0 0 0
LCD Errors: 0 0 0 0
Total Cells: 2244838824 296260 0 0
Data Cells: 274766430 12628 0 0
Bit Errors: 0 0 0 0
 
Total ES: 12100 4294967289
Total SES: 1580 0
Total UAS: 64 4294967244

Firmware Version: 1.4.0 Build 110921 Rel.17774n
Hardware Version: TD-W8960N v3 0x00000002

This information reflects the current status of your DSL connection.

Line Rate - Upstream (Kbps): 444
Line Rate - Downstream (Kbps): 9814
LAN IP Address: 192.168.1.1
Default Gateway: 195.166.128.192(pppoa0)
Primary DNS Server: 212.159.6.10
Secondary DNS Server: 212.159.6.9
System Running time: 4 day(s) 23:57:58
C:\Users\>ping bbc.co.uk
Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.241.131: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=246
Reply from 212.58.241.131: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=246
Reply from 212.58.241.131: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=246
Reply from 212.58.241.131: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=246
Ping statistics for 212.58.241.131:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 33ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 34ms

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,980
Thanks: 265
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: slower speeds and higher pings

Quote
D (interleaver depth): 64 1 0 0

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/interleaving.htm explains an interleave depth (especially a gigantic 64) better than I could.  Shocked Cheesy
BTW I don't know why you have two paths...

St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings

i dont understand that tbh its all above my head Wink is it a good or bad thing ?
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings


Ive just ran a speedtest and it got stuck at that Sad my connection right now seams very sluggish and some webpages dont load correctly. Something is not right but i dont know if its my router or if its my line/connection.
Would be great if someone from plusnet could check this out for me, maybe i should drop a suport ticket in ?
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings

just ran this Sad


Connection seams to be getting worse
Ive put a support ticket in ( 61307541 ) hopefully someone can help as im unsure to why this is happening. Ive checked my account and i have not gone over my usage limit.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,980
Thanks: 265
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: slower speeds and higher pings

Your router is reporting that spreading an internet period over a longish period allows errors to be corrected "in-flight", so avoiding a re-transmit.
This is a good thing.  Smiley
But this increases your latency.
This is a bad thing.  Sad
This is due to some interference on your line (somewhere)
You need to raise a ticket with Plusnet - who will start by suggesting a few causes.
They will also want you to use the BT speedtester.
BTW When you do your speedtests, always try them against the same high capacity destination.
I tried pinging your ip address (displayed) but you weren't there any more.
Don't switch off your router (ever) in normal use and certainly not more than once an hour.
BT think you got a brief line error.

St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings


shows me have 1 meg speed it seams to be getting slower by the hour Sad
Theres deffo some kind of problem
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: slower speeds and higher pings "help needed"

Try a gateway hop, see if that improves things.
That's RPM to you!!
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings "help needed"


how do i hop gatways ? by rebooting router?
Im on this atm ...
You are currently connected to the gateway known as ptn-ag03.
This is located in Telehouse North.
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: slower speeds and higher pings "help needed"

Depending on your Router's interface it would be either 'Disconnect' or 'Drop PPP', then reconnect the PPP session.
Definitely not a reboot!
That's RPM to you!!
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: slower speeds and higher pings "help needed"

Ok im now on ptw-ag03.
This is located in Telehouse West.
After switching router off/on
Ive just got this speedtest which seams an improvment, but ill still monitor it.

ping still seams alittle high.
Bt speedtester says im now getting 7 meg but still shows a high ping of 42.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: slower speeds and higher pings "help needed"

No, not that, that's a reboot when you power off or a reset. You will end up with a worse sync speed at this time of day.
Login as you do for stats - and look for what RPM has said. I'll post more in a moment.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: slower speeds and higher pings "help needed"

Oh well, too late. Can you post the current stats, the results of the BT Speedtest Diagnostic (not that flash one) and Current Line speed (Login required)