cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

routers? which is best?

emzx23x
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 15-12-2010

routers? which is best?

thomson TG585v8,
i have had so many issues such as
low download speed (wifi or wired)
really low upload speeds(wifi)
wifi conectivity was poor
and the operating system was a pain to use
switched back to my bt hub in the end
just wondering if anyone else feels the same way or having same issues with this router.
has any one got any suggestions to replace  the thompson tg585v8
maybe plusnet will take notice and possibly changed there standard issue router.
I
24 REPLIES
backtogeek
Grafter
Posts: 109
Registered: 03-11-2010

Re: Our thoughts on the thomson TG585v8

yup, but to be fair I knew what I was getting before I ordered and I knew is would be a paper weight within a few days.
When ever I move (few times a year with work) I allways try to match the router to the service and plan in advance to buy a new one, e.g. long line/short line/ ADSL/ADSL2/+ LLU/ADSL Max etc..
The Thompson syncs on my line at 448/984 my netgear DG834G V4 syncs at 228/2464
My Line is 5.6km with 62db attenuation.
emzx23x
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 15-12-2010

Re: plusnet replacement for thomson TG585v8 any ideas

If plusnet are owned by bt, why cant you they  issue a bt hub 2.0 as i have had good experiences
with this router. and very few problems with it. and xbox live after port forwarding, i have open nat
settings so i can connect to most people to play games.
average speed test on same line wired
thompson =1.6mb download
                  = 0.2mb upload
bt hub 2.0 =2.3mb download
                  =0.360 upload
average speed test on same line wifi
thompson =1mb download
                    =0.16mb upload
bt hub 2.0 =2.3mb download
                  =0.350 upload
after port forwarding both were open NAT
http://portforward.com/
Apprentice
Grafter
Posts: 614
Registered: 04-11-2008

Re: Our thoughts on the thomson TG585v8

Quote from: backtogeek
yup, but to be fair I knew what I was getting before I ordered and I knew is would be a paper weight within a few days.
When ever I move (few times a year with work) I allways try to match the router to the service and plan in advance to buy a new one, e.g. long line/short line/ ADSL/ADSL2/+ LLU/ADSL Max etc..
The Thompson syncs on my line at 448/984 my netgear DG834G V4 syncs at 228/2464
My Line is 5.6km with 62db attenuation.

Strange the Netgear is reporting an upload sync rate of 228 Kbps whereas the Thomson reports 448 Kbps.
emzx23x
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 15-12-2010

Re: plusnet replacement for thomson TG585v8 any ideas

why is there so much of a difference on line speeds when using different router arn't they just the middle men as such. shouldn't all routers recieve and send max potential of the line it is connected to?
backtogeek
Grafter
Posts: 109
Registered: 03-11-2010

Re: plusnet replacement for thomson TG585v8 any ideas

@ Apprentice: sorry that was a typo on my part it is 448
@emzx23x: its down to the chipsets inside the routers, alot of it is not hard evedence however my own personal findings are that the netgear dg834g v4 with the broadcom chipset is especialy good at handling noise and is good on long line as is the BT 2wire 2700. Belkin routers seem to be the worst of the known brands. the dg834g V5 does not use the broadcom chipset and I have not used one myself however from what I have read they dont perform as well as the V4 (on long lines anyway)
The issue is there are so many possible variations it impossible to say for sure which router is the best, its more a case of which one is best for your line.
If you have any friends with ADSL its worth borrowing thier router for a short time if possible and testing as many as you can.
emzx23x
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 15-12-2010

Re: plusnet replacement for thomson TG585v8 any ideas

i see so what are your stats on your router for your line at the moment?
and what are your distances from the exchange?
oh and just read cambridgeshire capible of getting 1gb download speeds with FTTH,
they only able to buy 100mbs deals at the moment but how would you use a 1gb speed
ethernet only does 100mbs in router i have used and wifi 54mbs(aprox). is the trial FTTC the same speeds?
emzx23x
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 15-12-2010

Re: routers? which is best?

ADSL line status
Connection information
Line state Connected
Connection time 0 days, 18:47:54
Downstream 2,944 Kbps
Upstream 448 Kbps
ADSL settings
VPI/VCI 0/38
Type PPPoA
Modulation ITU-T G.992.1
Latency type Fast
Noise margin (Down/Up) 14.8 dB / 22.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up) 54.0 dB / 31.5 dB
Output power (Down/Up) 17.8 dBm / 11.9 dBm
Loss of Framing (Local) 11
Loss of Signal (Local) 1
Loss of Power (Local) 0
FEC Errors (Down/Up) 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Down/Up) 170 / 2147480000
HEC Errors (Down/Up) nil / 0
Error Seconds (Local) 164

How do you find out distance from exchange?
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 2,913
Thanks: 241
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: routers? which is best?

One recognised as very good is Kitz's http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/max_speed_calc.php
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
mapletree
Grafter
Posts: 644
Registered: 28-07-2007

Re: routers? which is best?

@ emzx23x: Your downstream noise margin is very high at nearly 15dB.  It looks like you are getting a lot of errors on your line.  There could be a fault somewhere.  Try raising a speed fault with PN.
backtogeek
Grafter
Posts: 109
Registered: 03-11-2010

Re: routers? which is best?

My stats are:          
     
 
    ADSL Link 	     Downstream 	     Upstream 	     	 
      Connection Speed       2272 kbps       448 kbps  
      Line Attenuation       62.0 db       31.5 db  
      Noise Margin       3.7 db       19.0 db

My line is 5.6 km from the excahnge
I use a very short 10cm high quality phone cable, no extensions in the house, router allways in the test socket and an ADSL Nation Pro microfilter.
Currently on a Netgear DG834G V4 with DGTeam firmware + SNR tweak
My house is only yards from the cabinet so that helps
IP Profile now at 2000
With the thompson router and none of the advove additions I was syncing at 448up/984down and on an IP Profile of 750
My line is pushed to the limit and stability so far is ok I can do other things to get it syncing around 2850 but its unstable.        
mapletree
Grafter
Posts: 644
Registered: 28-07-2007

Re: routers? which is best?

@backtogeek: Looks like you're getting the max possible speed for your line.  I found that a 2wire 2700HGV (BT Business Hub) router gives the best speed even if comparing to the Netgear with the SNR tweak.  The distance to the cabinet is not important IMHO, unless you have fibre ;-)
backtogeek
Grafter
Posts: 109
Registered: 03-11-2010

Re: routers? which is best?

I heard similar things about th 2wire 2700HGV, So I tried that before the netgear and it was about 10 - 15% lower sync, I guess every line is different.
The reason I mentioned the distance to the cabinet is because that is often the lowest quality part of the whole link so I dont have so much of an issue with that.
mattstead
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 17-12-2010

Re: plusnet replacement for thomson TG585v8 any ideas

Quote from: emzx23x

average speed test on same line wired
thompson =1.6mb download
                   = 0.2mb upload
bt hub 2.0 =2.3mb download
                  =0.360 upload


Has anyone got a link to how to set up a bt hub (v1.5) on plusnet?
emzx23x
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 15-12-2010

Re: routers? which is best?

Quote from: mapletree
@ emzx23x: Your downstream noise margin is very high at nearly 15dB.  It looks like you are getting a lot of errors on your line.  There could be a fault somewhere.  Try raising a speed fault with PN.


yea i got bt coming to to try and sort it out