cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

router drop out

starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

router drop out

i have had trouble for a fair while now and just hav to put up with but p*ssing me off alittle now had afew routers but they all do the same thing no pattern to the dis-connection it happens when it want copyed the system log out my router
4/20/2012 23:2:19> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:2:56> Last errorlog repeat 17 Times
4/20/2012 23:3:1> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:3:39> Last errorlog repeat 20 Times
4/20/2012 23:3:42> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:3:50> Last errorlog repeat 8 Times
4/20/2012 23:3:53> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:3:54> Last errorlog repeat 2 Times
4/20/2012 23:3:58> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:4:14> Last errorlog repeat 8 Times
4/20/2012 23:4:19> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:4:55> Last errorlog repeat 20 Times
4/20/2012 23:5:0> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
4/20/2012 23:6:56> Last errorlog repeat 74 Times
its working at the minute but these are the readings dont make sence to me

  Downstream Upstream 
  SNR Margin : 13.0  19.0 db
  Line Attenuation : 48.5  24.5  db
  Data Rate : 5152  448  kbps
  Max Rate : 5280  972  kbps
  CRC : 0 0 
46 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: router drop out

Hi starkie1800, What was the uptime (roughly if you don't know exactly) when you got those Line stats? So the disconnections occur randomly and not consistent with anything else, like an incoming phone call? Do you hear any noise on the line during a phone call?
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

only just reset my router and cleared old log  Embarrassed
been told it might be intermittent sync issue
no pattern to this at all
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

latest running off test socket
1/1/2000 0:1:15> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
1/1/2000 0:1:22> Last errorlog repeat 4 Times
1/1/2000 0:1:22> ppp_ready: ch:8064cea8, iface:805bb344
1/1/2000 0:1:22> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/1/2000 0:1:22> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 0:1:22> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 0:1:22> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
1/1/2000 0:1:34> Last errorlog repeat 15 Times
1/1/2000 0:1:34> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
1/1/2000 0:1:34> Last errorlog repeat 4 Times
1/1/2000 0:1:34> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
1/1/2000 0:1:35> Last errorlog repeat 5 Times
1/1/2000 0:1:35> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
1/1/2000 0:1:36> Last errorlog repeat 2 Times
1/1/2000 0:1:39> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=8062f4c0
1/1/2000 0:2:11> Last errorlog repeat 8 Times
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: router drop out

Hi again. Other than showing you are getting a lot of drops, those last sets of figures aren't giving any information about your connection.
Can you post some more ADSL Line stats, preferably after a fairly lengthy uptime, and preferably with more error figures and the Uptime. Don't repeatedly reboot your modem/router as too many disconnects in a short interval will push up your target noise margin, especially if you are getting connection drops. It already looks as though it's gone up, which will slow you potential sync speed (data rate as referred by your modem/router).
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

not sure what you are after
 Downstream Upstream  
 SNR Margin : 15.5  19.0 db
 Line Attenuation : 48.0  24.5  db
 Data Rate : 4864  448  kbps
 Max Rate : 5184  984  kbps
 CRC : 1 0  
       
on ps3 last nite got booted out 4 or 5 time give up in the end
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,007
Thanks: 1,245
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: router drop out

I had problems logging into PSN last night so it might not be a good indication of the quality of your broadband.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

is there anything i can do this end or is it a openreach problem
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: router drop out

Don't know yet, not enough info except you've obviously had a few drops as you target noise margin looks like it's gone to 15dB. We need to establish that it's not your equipment or internal wiring that's causing the problem. Don't want to get BT involved yet, you could end up with a nasty bill  Shocked  if it's your setup.
Is your modem/router on 24/7 and can you say roughly if you haven't the exact figure, what the Uptime was for the last stats?
When I said 'preferably more error figures' I meant things like ES errors, HEC errors & so on in addition to CRC errors.
Have a look around your modem/router interface and see what you can find. What is it by the way - Make, model & version?
You didn't comment on whether you can hear any noise on the line when using the phone, by the way.
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

there is no pattern to it tried 5-6 modems using tp-link w8951nd at the min have tried netgear d-link and your thompson one's all same results defo not router
  Downstream Upstream 
  SNR Margin : 15.5  19.0 db
  Line Attenuation : 48.0  24.5  db
  Data Rate : 4864  448  kbps
  Max Rate : 5184  984  kbps
  CRC : 41 0 
been ok this morning seems to b night thing i dont know
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

sorry phone seems fine but saying that dont use it
  >> Testing Ethernet LAN connection ... PASS 
      >> Testing ADSL Synchronization . PASS 
      >> Testing ATM OAM segment ping ... PASS 
      >> Testing ATM OAM end to end ping ... PASS 
      >> Testing ATM OAM F4 segment ping ... FAIL 
      >> Testing ATM OAM F4 end to end ping ... PASS 
      >> Ping Primary Domain Name Server . PASS 
      >> Ping www.yahoo.com ... PASS 
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: router drop out

Well unfortunately your Target SNRM looks like it's risen to 15dB, no doubt because of combined multiple modem/router swaps and any line drops. This has lowered your sync speed and so the 4.5M Profile that you should have had a couple of days ago will now have gone down to 4M.
However the good news is that the CRC errors haven't gone up astronomically. About 8/hr average going by the 2 stats posted today and that's pretty good and you've had no line drops.
Is the modem/router you are currently using (and what is it?) the one where you seemed to be getting drops or another? Anyway leave it on 24/7 for the time being, no reboots/resyncs.
You say you've tried your various modem/routers and "all same results defo not router". What comparisons were you making to draw this conclusion, the number of drops or something else? Speed test results won't mean anything. Have a read of this to give you a better idea.
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,104151.msg887033.html#msg887033
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

will leave it turned on i am using tp-link w8951nd brand new and was all other modems new
the pattern with each router/modem all is the same drops out when ever it feels like...

i live in a rural area and lines are not the best about 2 miles from exchange
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: router drop out

Just over 2 miles cable length going by the attenuation and I guess you are on 20CN.
If you spot a drop as it's happening, pickup the phone, dial a 1 at it and see if you can hear any crackling noises.
Can you briefly describe your installation ie. do you have a Master socket which should look like the one on the left at http://www.plus.net/suppo...master-socket-guide.shtml or do you have the ADSL plate like the one on the right?
Do you have any fixed extensions and wiring and what's plugged into them, sky boxes, faxes etc, is everything connected by filters that look like that in section 2 at http://www.plus.net/suppo...filters-how-and-why.shtml ?
If you have fixed extensions and wiring, roughly how old is the wiring?
How long is the lead to the modem router, is it the original supplied?
Are you using any plug-in extension leads anywhere, if so where?
starkie1800
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: 18-10-2011

Re: router drop out

running off the main test socket over the weekend to test only have 2 phone 1 in the main and 1 extension the phone cable is the 1 that came with tp-link and it is about 1 mtr long the filter is the new 1 that came with tp also
will keep my eye on it over the nxt 24 hrs