cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"which gateway" tool sometimes confused

davebiffuk
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 08-05-2008

"which gateway" tool sometimes confused

The "which gateway" tool at http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway sometimes doesn't know where I am... e.g. this output, where the traceroute shows ptw-ag03 but my gateway couldn't be identified. Oddly sometimes it does seem to know about ptw-ag03.
This tool can be useful, for example to find out if the router has connected to a different gateway after a reboot. Any chance it could be fixed, please?
ta!
Dave

dave@snag:~$ lynx -dump http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway | grep -A3 '^Which gateway'
Which gateway
  Sorry, the tool currently could not identify your gateway; this does
  not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.
dave@snag:~$ traceroute www.plus.net
traceroute to www.plus.net (212.159.8.2), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  10.0.0.138 (10.0.0.13Cool  74.354 ms  74.281 ms  74.227 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptw-ag03.plus.net (195.166.128.197)  21.064 ms  22.901 ms  23.552 ms
3  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net (212.159.2.152)  25.938 ms  26.443 ms  26.900 ms
[...trimmed...]
5 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,456
Thanks: 796
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: "which gateway" tool sometimes confused

The gateway checker tool uses the reverse route to identify your gateway. I'm also getting the "could not identify" message at the moment and I'm on ptn-ag04. It looks like Plusnet have introduced new gateway nodes that don't respond to pings.
If you visit http://users.plus.net/@gateway_custom/?debug-ip does it give you a trace with an * as the last line? Like this…
  \[0] =>  1  vl50.peh-asr03.plus.net (84.92.0.73)  1.976 ms
    [1] =>  2  po3.3659.peh-cr02.plus.net (84.93.232.3Cool  0.408 ms
    [2] =>  3  84-93-232-60 (84.93.232.60)  8.208 ms
    [3] =>  4  ae3.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.32)  7.963 ms
    [4] =>  5  te8-6.ptn-gw01.plus.net (212.159.0.117)  11.590 ms
    [5] =>  6  *
David
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,080
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: "which gateway" tool sometimes confused

I'm also on currently ptn-ag04, the gateway checker worked fine (the lack of responses at the end is my router not responding to pings).
the debug-ip output:
[tt]1  vl50.peh-asr03.plus.net (84.92.0.73)  0.472 ms
2  po3.3656.peh-cr01.plus.net (84.93.232.32)  0.405 ms
3  po5.peh-cr02.plus.net (84.93.232.17)  11.709 ms
4  84-93-232-60 (84.93.232.60)  9.716 ms
5  ae3.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.32)  7.341 ms
6  te8-6.ptn-gw01.plus.net (212.159.0.117)  8.219 ms
7  link-a-central10.ptn-ag04.plus.net (212.159.2.141)  12.484 ms
8  *
9  *
10  *
11  *[/tt]
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,456
Thanks: 796
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: "which gateway" tool sometimes confused

It's also responding for me now. Weird  Huh
  \[0] =>  1  vl50.peh-asr03.plus.net (84.92.0.73)  0.436 ms
    [1] =>  2  po3.3659.peh-cr02.plus.net (84.93.232.3Cool  0.404 ms
    [2] =>  3  84-93-232-60 (84.93.232.60)  11.333 ms
    [3] =>  4  ae3.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.32)  9.715 ms
    [4] =>  5  te8-6.ptn-gw01.plus.net (212.159.0.117)  7.979 ms
    [5] =>  6  link-a-central10.ptn-ag04.plus.net (212.159.2.141)  13.220 ms
David
David
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: "which gateway" tool sometimes confused

Just tested
Which gateway
You are using a debugging mode - and checking IP REMOVED
Array
(
   [0] =>  1  vl50.peh-asr03.plus.net (84.92.0.73)  0.548 ms
   [1] =>  2  po3.3659.peh-cr02.plus.net (84.93.232.3Cool  0.523 ms
   [2] =>  3  84-93-232-60 (84.93.232.60)  7.839 ms
   [3] =>  4  ae3.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.32)  9.467 ms
   [4] =>  5  ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.1)  11.591 ms
   [5] =>  6  ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.7)  7.593 ms
   [6] =>  7  te8-2.pcl-gw02.plus.net (212.159.0.199)  8.481 ms
   [7] =>  8  link-b-central10.pcl-ag02.plus.net (212.159.2.167)  56.970 ms
   [8] =>  9  *
   [9] => 10  *
   [10] => 11  *
)
You are currently connected to gateway pcl-ag02.
This is located in City Lifeline House.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,080
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: "which gateway" tool sometimes confused

It probably just means some of the hops on the traceroute don't always respond to the traceroute (ping) packets, probably if they were too busy with routing traffic at the time.