cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem streaming

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

problem streaming

Hi not sure if you can help but my connection ( even though it is slightly slower since changing to plusnet ) has been fairly stable until I try to stream television catch up on both iplayer or 4 OD the router reboots , I've tried a different router and it's just the same  Cry any idea's cheers
17 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: problem streaming

Hi noddy8,
I've taken a look at your account and can see the issue straight away.
For some reason which I'm yet to determine some details relating to our suppliers and the way your service is managed didn't update on your account when broadband was activated.
The "long and short" of this is that traffic management won't work properly resulting in streaming and speed issues got you amongst other things.
Sorry about this, I'm fixing it now. Please allow 10 minutes from my reply then disconnect/reconnect and you should see some improvement hopefully. I do however wish to set a reasonable expectation that the line is connecting at 2.5mb which is right on the estimate wev'e given you. That means streaming HD may sometimes be problematic (I'd download these if you have the option and stream in SD) also trying to do so on more than one device on the same connection would be a push too.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

Thanks for the reply will see what happens , we were getting a pretty stable 3mb connection previously but I know it's a long line
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

we've never been able to stream in HD but had no real problems with SD and services like netflix , 4OD don't give a download option
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

The noise margin seems to be stuck at 15 even after resync  Sad
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: problem streaming

We might get a better idea of what is going on if you post the stats from your router (what make is it)
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

Hi it's a 2wire 2700hgv is it best to just copy and paste the stats ?
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: problem streaming

Yes - delete any personal details - if any
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

don't think there's any personal bits in this
Modem Type: Built in modem - ADSL
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Current DSL Connection:
Down Up
Rate: 2880 kbs 448 kbs
Max Rate: 2744 kbs 792 kbs
Noise Margin: 15.0 dB 16.0 dB
Attenuation: 56.9 dB 31.5 dB
Output Power: 18.8 dBm 12.4 dBm
Protocol: G.DMT Annex A
Channel: Interleaved
DSLAM Vendor Information Country: {46336} Vendor: {TSTC} Specific: {4101 }
ATM PVC: 0/38
Rate Cap: 2744 kbs
Attenuation @ 300kHz: 56.9 dB
Uncanceled Echo: -18.2 dB Ok
VCXO Frequency Offset: -22.4 ppm Ok
Final Receive Gain: 33.0 dB Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Traffic Statistics
IP Traffic Bytes Packets Errors %
Transmit: 1260618 185 0 0
Receive: 41953005 39618 0 0
ATM Traffic Cells Errors %
Transmit: 98870 0 0
Receive: 906141 0 0
DSL Link Errors
Collected for 4:31:34
Since Current Current Time Since
Reset 24-hr int. 15-min int. Last Event
ATM
Last Event
Cell Header Errors 3600 3600 28 0:00:01
Loss of cell Delineation 32 32 0 0:01:43
DSL
Link Retrains: 0 0 0 0:00:00
DSL Training Errors: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Training Timeouts: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Loss of Framing Failures: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Loss of Signal Failures: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Loss of Power Failures: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Loss of Margin Failures: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Cum. Seconds w/Errors: 3353 3353 23 0:00:01
Cum. Sec. w/Severe Errors: 0 0 0 0:00:00
Corrected Blocks: 36654 36654 218 0:00:01
Uncorrectable Blocks: 4573 4573 31 0:00:01
DSL Unavailable Seconds: 31 31 0 4:31:02
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 505
Fixes: 190
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: problem streaming

Your target SNR is set at 15db so that won't change until DLM takes it off.
I can see quite a few errors on the line which most likely explains why it's set so high.
To rule out the obvious stuff first is your router connected to the master socket?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

Yes it's straight in to the master socket via a filter plate
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

any news on this yet ?
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

still here waiting , anybody there ?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 505
Fixes: 190
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: problem streaming

I've put a reset through as the errors appear to be gone.
If you test it in a couple of hours there should be a increase.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: problem streaming

Thanks for that sorry for delay had to turn router off for a few days but back on now  sync higher  Smiley I'll keep an eye on it cheers