cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

poor responses from akamai hosted websites

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

poor responses from akamai hosted websites

perhaps this falls between "bb speed" and "internet" forums so can a mod please move if appropriate.
akamai download servers have long been throttled by plusnet, and this isn't my issue -- it's that I am still struggling with poor browsing experience from websites hosted at deploy.akamaitechnologies.com  (e.g. www.alfaromeo.co.uk)
any comments  from the plusnet networks or comms staff ?
paul
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,408
Thanks: 999
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

Something odd here.
When I go to the site I get a blank screen and the reported address in Firefox is http://www.alfaromeo.co.uk/cmsen/homepage/pages/home.aspx?outputXml=true&CustomResponse=WebCrawler
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,532
Thanks: 1,080
Fixes: 126
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

Seems to be loading OK for me, perhaps a little slow with the videos - but I'm impatient with flash at the best of times.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

@Jim
I'm getting my info from a packet sniffer on my ethernet card (windump)
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

I am downloading at up to 750 kB/sec from that site
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

i'm struggling again with this again tonight (2nd May). anyhthing hosted at akamai is crwaling to load (alfa, and also eBay)_
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

alfa took about 20-25secs to fully load all flash here
edit: forget that ive got spotify running
5 seconds to fully load alfa, ebays fine to
on umlimited and 21cn trial at 2500kbps profile
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

21cn ...
i'm not, and also on legacy BB+
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

Well it took about 35 seconds to fully load the homepage just now using Firefox and ~40 secs with IE.
Don't know if it's gateway dependant, but I'm on pcl-ag03 at present.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

i forgot to clear my ie temp files after doing that first test that gave 25 seconds and the 5secs after.
but just done a fair test and came back at 12seconds for alfa and ebay fine.
IE8 now on a 4000kbps profile
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,996
Thanks: 771
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

Seems a little slow here but that's hardly surprising given how graphically intensive it is, @paulh if you run a Wireshark capture how is the traffic being classified?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

i am getting 0x80 to 151.88.40.10 and 0x60 to 88.221.26.32 on unlimited
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

same here Bob, which I think means it's correctly prioritised traffic?
I realise it's all heavy lumps of file traffic with all that flash video and images, but many evenings it can take (quite literally) 4 or 5 minutes to load pages; which isn't good for a 6MB connection like mine ...
If it's just congestion at Akamai then I'll have to lump it but I wanted to rule out a PN glitch
(by the way, windump (tcpdump) run with a -v option gives the TOS field we needed without having to install Wireshark)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,124
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

I'm bumping this up again.
I've been having problems with akamai hosted video streaming - all classified as 0x60, which is what prompted me to do a search, and I came across this thread. I checked out the alfa romeo site, and that is being classified as 0x60 also.

It seems this has been going on for more than 6 months, and is clearly still a problem. What is plus net planning to do about it? I have raised a ticket which includes a link to a video on facebook, which seems to be served from akamai - it is basically unmatchable.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: poor responses from akamai hosted websites

there are a couple of other threads which refer to this too -- one is "browsing through treacle"