cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

plusnet already filtering?

danger11
Grafter
Posts: 110
Registered: 23-02-2010

plusnet already filtering?

I was running a test to one of my homeservers and noticed an extra hop or two..
can anyone else confirm?

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.7.1
  2    18 ms    16 ms    16 ms  lo0-plusnet.pcl-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.39]
  3    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  link1-plusnet.pcl-gw01.plus.net [84.92.7.100]
  4    18 ms    25 ms    16 ms  ll.monitor.plus.net.uk [212.159.0.132]  <<<< THIS ONE IS NEW
  5    15 ms    47 ms    16 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6    15 ms    16 ms    17 ms  ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.5] <<<<< SO IS THIS
  7    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  195.66.236.23
  8    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  popl-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.159.118]
  9    19 ms    17 ms    17 ms  nrth-bb-1c-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253
.174.137]
10    21 ms    20 ms    21 ms  leed-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253
.174.121]
11    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  pres-core-2a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.
105.159.194]
12    24 ms    24 ms    23 ms  live-cmts-24-ge134.network.virginmedia.net [81.9
7.112.209]
13    33 ms    89 ms    87 ms  cpc1-live24-2-0-cust62.know.cable.virginmedia.co
m [92.239.181.63]
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,094
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: plusnet already filtering?

That traceroute looks much the same as any other I've seen for the past few months, just one of the hostnames in yours looks new.
[tt]traceroute to ftp.mirrorservice.org (212.219.56.184), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  1.929 ms
2  lo0-central10.pcl-ag05.plus.net (195.166.128.186)  62.371 ms
3  link10-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net (84.93.249.146)  25.620 ms
4  210.core.access.plus.net (212.159.0.210)  24.621 ms
5  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.2)  24.972 ms
6  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.4)  24.826 ms
7  linx-gw1.ja.net (195.66.224.15)  24.824 ms
8  ae1.londtn-sbr1.ja.net (146.97.35.181)  24.715 ms
9  ae13.lond-sbr1.ja.net (146.97.33.133)  33.725 ms
10  kentish-man.lond-sbr1.ja.net (146.97.40.114)  27.431 ms
11  212.219.171.222 (212.219.171.222)  27.755 ms
12  www.mirrorservice.org (212.219.56.184)  27.471 ms[/tt]
There is often 212.159.0.X then a pair of 195.166.129.Y.
danger11
Grafter
Posts: 110
Registered: 23-02-2010

Re: plusnet already filtering?

Do you mind trying 92.239.181.63 please.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: plusnet already filtering?

Tracing route to cpc1-live24-2-0-cust62.know.cable.virginmedia.com [92.239.181.63] over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    86 ms    99 ms    99 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    33 ms    32 ms    32 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.195]
  3    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.144]
  4    59 ms    32 ms    41 ms  240.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.240]
  5    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  195.66.225.103
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    37 ms    37 ms    37 ms  leed-bb-1c-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.26]
  8    39 ms    39 ms    39 ms  pres-core-2a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.194]
  9    41 ms    40 ms    42 ms  live-cmts-24-ge131.network.virginmedia.net [81.97.114.42]
10    96 ms    93 ms    63 ms  cpc1-live24-2-0-cust62.know.cable.virginmedia.com [92.239.181.63]
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: plusnet already filtering?

And another:
Quote
1    1 ms    1 ms    1 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    16 ms    19 ms    14 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.xxx]
  3    15 ms    15 ms    16 ms  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.162]
  4    16 ms    15 ms    14 ms  194.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.194]
  5    16 ms    14 ms    15 ms  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
  6    14 ms    14 ms    15 ms  195.66.236.23
  7    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  popl-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.118]
  8    16 ms    16 ms    19 ms  nrth-bb-1c-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.137]
  9    19 ms    20 ms    20 ms  leed-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.121]
10    22 ms    21 ms    21 ms  pres-core-2a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.194]
11    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  live-cmts-24-ge131.network.virginmedia.net [81.97.114.42]
12  146 ms  171 ms    31 ms  cpc1-live24-2-0-cust62.know.cable.virginmedia.com [92.239.181.63]
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,825
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: plusnet already filtering?

I've got a strange offering...  Roll eyes
Quote
jeremy@HECTOR:~$ traceroute 92.239.181.63
traceroute to 92.239.181.63 (92.239.181.63), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  ROUTER (192.168.1.1)  1.993 ms  1.645 ms  1.613 ms
2  lo0-central10.pcl-ag03.plus.net (195.166.128.184)  38.118 ms  38.064 ms  38.617 ms
3  link9-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.80)  38.590 ms  39.134 ms  40.263 ms
4  200.core.access.plus.net (212.159.0.200)  40.238 ms  40.209 ms  40.793 ms
5  ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.7)  40.770 ms ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.0)  41.320 ms  41.300 ms
6  195.66.225.103 (195.66.225.103)  58.502 ms ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.2)  40.789 ms ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.5)  40.746 ms
7  195.66.236.23 (195.66.236.23)  42.168 ms  10.467 ms  12.618 ms
8  popl-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.118)  31.455 ms leed-bb-1c-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.26)  33.413 ms popl-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.118)  31.409 ms
9  nrth-bb-1c-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.137)  33.353 ms  33.898 ms  33.873 ms
10  live-cmts-24-ge130.network.virginmedia.net (81.97.114.117)  35.145 ms leed-bb-1c-ae9-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.121)  35.133 ms  35.709 ms
11  pres-core-2a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.194)  37.040 ms  39.495 ms *
12  * live-cmts-24-ge130.network.virginmedia.net (81.97.114.117)  19.457 ms live-cmts-24-ge134.network.virginmedia.net (81.97.112.209)  21.059 ms
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *

It never reaches its target.
Multiple pings take multiple paths.
Weird.
Perhaps the internet is broken. Cheesy

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: plusnet already filtering?

Looks like the DNS might just be wrong on a router somewhere, doing a lookup on that IP shows that it's related to the leasedlines we use to sell several years ago.
host 212.159.0.132
132.0.159.212.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer leasedlines.monitor.plus.net.uk.
132.0.159.212.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer ll.monitor.plus.net.uk.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: plusnet already filtering?

Yeah, to confirm it's nothing to do with filtering.  An IP address has been reused in the infrastructure which used to be used for a monitoring device. (You can tell its old by the .uk on the end!)
The ops guys will fix the dns name shortly.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: plusnet already filtering?

Quote from: Kelly
The ops guys will fix the dns name shortly.

To :
wearenotspyingonyou.plus.net ?
Grin
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: plusnet already filtering?

Good suggestion Cheesy
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager